Chocolate Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I followed the recipe except instead of using sour milk I used liquid yogurt, and instead of diced zuchinni I used cooked mashed zucchini. That may have been a deal breaker, and why my cake was a little on the heavy side. It tasted good, but it didn't have the moist light texture I prefer. It came out more like chocolate zucchini bars, which is OK too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This chocolate zucchini cake is heaven! I only used about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips on the top, and I found it was plenty. I also just used regular milk (rather than sour milk) and grated the zucchini. Next time I will try replacing the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I baked it in two loaf pans, easier to manage with just two people in the house. I also topped the batter with a handful of mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I just made 2 of these–had a HUGE zucchini, and only shredded half of it! The house smells great! Instead of making them in a sheet pan, I made them in bundt pans and baked for 55 minutes. I left out the chocolate chips but added finely chopped pecans. Very moist and dense, the way I like a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Lane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I got lots of complements on this when I made it and brought it to a friend's house. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rehovot, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I dismissed previous reviewers opinions of lack of flavor etc and went ahead and made this cake. They were right. If not for the chocolate chips, this cake would not be recognizable as chocolate. Odd choice of cinnamon made it taste weird. It was moist, though. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
LOVE this. Made it just like the recipe directed but used 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 butter for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very moist. Followed recipe except for add a little more bitter chocolate to the batter and I did add the chocolate chips into the batter. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
modified this to be gluten free and it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajhus
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I've made this a few times now and it always turns out wonderful! Very moist and the zucchini is not noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States