Chocolate Zucchini Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I love this recipe! I tweaked it a bit by adding a couple generous shakes of cayenne pepper and I mixed the walnuts and chocolate chips in the batter. Very tasty indeed. Will add a little instant coffee next time. I also baked in loaf pans so I could freeze one for winter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was so moist and yummy! I used buttermilk instead of sour milk and nutmeg instead of cloves as well and skipped the nuts. The only thing I would do differently next time is cut down on the cocoa powder to only 3 tablespoon. It was very fun and easy to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This cake is so moist and delicious! I used buttermilk for the sour milk and put the chocolate chips in the batter since I made them into cupcakes. Try this recipe, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Susan Kline Strahosky
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Great cake. Very moist. I followed someone else's suggestion and used sour cream instead of sour milk. I also used Bob Red Mill's gluten free baking flour. I used dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. Topped it with a mocha icing. Cut that recipe in half so it is a thin glaze. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kline Strahosky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I increased the cinnamon to 3/4 - 1 tsp, and switched to 1/8 tsp each of ginger and nutmeg instead of cloves. I also added 1 square of melted unsweetened chocolate. I add the 1/4 cup choc chips to batter. I sprinkled another 1/2 Cup of chips to the top of cake along with the ground walnuts. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
YUM!! Very moist! I subbed sour cream for sour milk, omitted cloves (personal preference), made it with both oil and apple sauce, and baked in various forms--9 X 13 cake pan, bread pans sprinkled with cinnamon/sugar, bundt cake. No matter how you sliced it, this is a very tasty recipe that will become a regular at our house and in our freezer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
My family adored this cake. I didn't have chocolate chips, nuts, or cloves in the house so I frosted with my own cream cheese frosting. Teenage sons couldn't believe there was vegetables in it. It is a heavier bread-like cake but that is what I love. The cinnamon adds a great touch, I also baked at 350 which is what I bake all my cakes at. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Excellent! Easy way to use up some of the multitude of zucchini that I have on hand. Great that I didn't need any frosting. It was perfect as is. I think I'll make it again for a potluck this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Seemed really greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Modified the recipe a bit. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup oat flour instead of 2 cups all-purpose; I used only 1/2 the fat and substituted the rest with mashed, over-ripe banana; and, instead of sour milk, I used plain, unsweetened yogurt. Also, I used only 1 cup of sugar, but I doubled the amount of chocolate chips :-) Tip: Although the recipe doesn't say, I squeezed some of the liquid out of the grated zucchini. I think that, otherwise, the cake would be way too moist and might not cook properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States