Chocolate Zucchini Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Definitely a great recipe. I skipped the cloves as well and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quirky Jessi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Very good! Just the recipe I was looking for. I used applesauce instead of oil and it turned out just so much more moist and yummy! I also added an extra cup of zucchini because I LOVE zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess of her Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I'd give this about 4.5 stars. It was lovely and moist, just the way you'd expect a zucchini bread or cake to be. The spice taste combined with the chocolate was a little odd, but in a good way. The only thing I might do differently next time is add more chocolate elements to this, so that the chocolate taste can hold its own against the spice. It's an unusual, refreshing recipe - thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonina_mdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is wonderful. I made it because I needed a dessert for a large group of adult students. I got many compliments and several requests for the recipe. I made it exactly as stated except I omitted nuts due to allergies in the group. It is light, chocolaty with a delicious spice taste. I would categorize it as "Grandma cake." The kind of down home dessert you would expect to have at your grandma's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very moist and delicious! No one would ever guess there was zucchini in the cake! The only change was to decrease the sugar a bit, which I generally tend to do with recipes. I didn't have sour milk so I used the milk and lemon juice solution as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
A great base recipe. I did change it but we LOVED the changes: I peeled the zucchini, Increased cocoa to 6 tbsp, did not add the spices, increased the sugar to 2 cups. Spread 1 cup of choc chips on top and then when cake was cool frosted with a white icing. Perfect choc cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I didn't care for the texture of the cake but the people in my office did enjoy it. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Almost identical to my mom's recipe which I have been craving for at least two years. Instead of sour milk I used sour cream and for the topping I mixed 1/4 c. brown sugar and the chocolate chips and sprinkled on top prior to baking. Fantastic! *I do think that the cloves are a little strong so I may cut the amount in half when I remake it tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuelkerclan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I used 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I only had 2 cups of zucchini, but it was fine. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a T, but my cake was done in 25 minutes. I'm not sure exactly what happened, but it was definitely baked through & tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States