Chocolate Zucchini Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is the exact same recipe that my grandmother gave to me that she has been using since I was a kid. Probably out of an old betty crocker cookbook or something. I make it a lot and everyone always loves it! The only differences that I make is that I alternate putting in the dry ingredients and the sour milk (or buttermilk) so that I don't over mix anything. (Put in 1/3 of the dry and mix til just barely incorporated, then 1/2 of the buttermilk and continue to repeat this until the dry is gone). I also omit the cloves cuz I am not a fan. Sometimes I skip the chocolate chips on top and put on a chocolate cream cheese or buttercream frosting. I also am allergic to nuts, so none of those. Also, when my grandmother makes it, she puts on half chocolate chips and half butterscotch chips. It's delicious this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Thanks so much for this recipe. I have made it a few times now and I can't believe how quickly it disappears, so I made a triple recipe last time and shared some with a friend. She asked for the recipe. I do reduce the amount of sugar and ice the cake with cream cheese icing. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I love this cake and definitely would make it again. The zucchini makes the cake very moist without giving it an overpowering taste. I tweaked the recipe a little bit. I added 1/2 tsp espresso powder, 1 cup mini chocolate chips, and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to the batter. Also, I substituted buttermilk for the sour milk. I sprinkled the batter with coarse sugar. The course sugar gave it a nice crunchy sweet topping. I found that the cake tasted even better the next day. Delicious with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Fabulously moist! I cooked an additional 5 minutes because the middle was still jiggly. I frosted with peanut butter frosting and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is very good. It is not an overly sweet cake which I like. If you are going to sub applesauce, switch it for the butter and not the oil. Liquid fats are better for u than solid fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This cake is delicious and healthy. I did not use butter instead I used 1/2 cup of plain yogurt, also cut the sugar amount into half. It is my husband's favorite cake, standing along side with his mother's black forest cake. Not bad at all!! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This cake is delicious! So moist and not overly sweet. I increased the amount of chocolate chips to 1/2 cup, adding half to the batter and sprinkling the remainder on top of the cake. Also added 1/2 tsp baking powder to the dry ingredients. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I substituted plain yogurt for the sour milk, it worked great. One reviewer said you can use sour cream instead of sour milk, and I always use plain yogurt in place of sour cream and it works fantastically every time! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
A good solid cake but lacked any wow factor for my family. Froze well and still a good solution for so many zucchinis growing in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Yummy! Made this for a family get together and everyone raved about it and couldn't stop eating it, even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States