Chocolate Zucchini Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This bread is really good. I made a few changes, because I know what I like in a quick bread. I like it to be really moist and I find that the recipes with sour cream in them are best acomplished in this way, so I added 1 cup sour cream. I was also concerned with it not being chocolatey enough, so I added a few tablespoons of cocoa to the dry ingredients. I also added extra chocolate chips. I also did what other reviewers suggest, and add the choc chips to the dry ingredients so they don't sink and it worked well. I added a little more zucchini also. And seriously, this is the absolute best bread I've put zucchini into ever! And I've been making different zucchini bread recipes all week. (I have a ton of zucchini in my garden). With the changes I made, I would consider it about perfect! I'll make it again and again. You would never know it had zucchini in it. It's perfectly moist and delicious. Like a rich chocolate cake. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
641 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This bread is a wonderful, chocolatey treat. The texture is very moist. My only suggestions are: 1) thoroughly grease the pans, 2) use mini chocolate chips in the recipe, and 3) let the loaves cool at least 10 minutes before you try to remove them from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
My family gobbled this up - I went through four loaves this weekend. Flour the choc chips first to keep them from sinking and grease your pans well or the bread will stick. This is SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Nice bread. My husband had no idea it was zucchini bread, when I told him he was like ‘NO WAY’ I don’t know if that’s good or bad, either way it’s very good bread. Reading the reviews is very helpful because I had no unsweetened chocolate at home and I searched the reviews if someone had used something other then that, and I finally found people who used cocoa. Turned out great, 3 tablespoon of cocoa and 1 tablespoon of butter per square.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This recipe is total crowd pleaser! I made mini loaves to give as gifts (they freeze well). Bake mini loaves for about 20 minutes. I also made this into an 8" layer cake and frosted with butter cream frosting and it was a hit at a neighborhood get-together! The cake took about 40-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This bread was delicious and very moist. It got better the second day, even moister! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of two, I used half whole wheat flour and half white, and replaced half the oil with applesauce. I used mini chocolate chips and didn't have any problems with sinkage. I will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Truly wonderful! I've baked this several times now -- though without the chips so far. I used a single bundt pan instead of two loaf pans and extended the baking time a bit. This even works with double the amount of zucchini (or a combination of zuke with grated carrots, pureed apple, or mashed banana...). Really great bread -- more like cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Fantastic. I actually used a large crookneck squash instead of zucchini. I also coated the chocolate chips (regular size) with flour and they did not sink, as others had indicated. I used whole wheat flour, but instead of 2 cups, used 1 3/4 cups as I find whole wheat flour tends to be heavier and take away from the moisture. With this recipe I will use the full 2 cups next time. I also used half white sugar and half turbinado (brown) sugar. Next time I will try using even more turbinado, and less white sugar. I also used egg replacer with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I baked this bread using 3/4 cup oil and adding some extra chocolate chips. I folded in the zucchini last to see if that would help chips from sinking to the bottom. It did! The bread was delicious! As an added treat, I microwaved slices just long enough to soften chips and served with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Very moist and tasty. The chocolate flavour isn't overwhelming so you can still taste the zukes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States