Chocolate Zucchini Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is a great recipe. I get lots of compliments but I have made some changes to make it more diabetic and low fat conscious. I added 3/4 cups of lite sour cream, added an extra cup of zucchini, I substitute the sugar with 3/4 brown sugar splenda and l/2 cup reg sugar, I added 1/2 cup of apple sauce and only put in 1/2 oil. I was also worried about how chocolatey it would be so I added 1/4 cup of cocoa. Very good and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Very Good! Some reviewers had trouble getting the bread out of the pan. When you take the pans out of the oven, place them on their side for about 5 minutes until the bread pulls away from the side, and then flip the pans over and do the same for the other side. I cut the sugar back to about 1 1/3 cups and it was still good, I replaced all the oil with applesauce (for a more healthy alternative). I added the chocolate chips to the flour mixture (stir around) and then mixed all that into the liquid, and I did not have any trouble with the chips sinking to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This bread tasted good, but the bottom stuck to bottom of the pan, even after greasing generously. If I was planning to serve it to guests I would have been very peeved. As well, I used defrosted grated zucchini and it was still a little cold when I added it to the chocolate and eggs and the melted chocolate solidified- I think cocoa powder would have worked better to give it a more consistent chocolate taste and colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Best I have ever had! Did use close to 3 cups zuchini, 1/3 c greek yogurt, 1/3 cup cocoa, and replaced oil with light mayo. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
A definite favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made mine into 12 muffins and a small loaf. I baked them 25 minutes. I also like to use mini chocolate chips. I used 1/2 c of applesauce/1/2 c of oil instead of all oil. I also used 3/4 c of cocoa blended into the oil instead of chocolate squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Very good , Couple of changes,used half applesauce and half oil. I had no choc chips, so I used 2 teaspoon cocoa. It was done in about 45 min. used 4 small bread pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I tried this as written and I am very glad I did because it is perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sun Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Wow! The zucchini really does disappear completely in this. There is NO discernable texture from it, and we could only see a little green from the peel. Since others said their bread stuck, I used Baker's Joy, a spray with flour in it meant to help cakes release easily. I made muffins out of it (in my pans that are NOT non-stick anymore), and they fell right out when I tipped the pans over. That is definitely the way to go! Like others, I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (which was perfect) and substituted 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 c. of the oil. I used 6 T. cocoa for the 2 squares of chocolate, because that's what I had. If I had made them as the recipe was written, they would have been moister and even more wonderful (but more fattening, too). The recipe made 24 cupcakes, which I baked at 375 for 14-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
added 1 cup sour cream and 3T cocoa powder as reviews suggested. Moist wonderful flavor - making more today - this is a keeper (choc chips on top of loaves before cooking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States