Chocolate Zucchini Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is the first time I have ever made zucchini bread so I decided to try a chocolate recipe, b/c everyone likes chocolate!I used 3TBSP of cocoa Powder and 1 TBSP of butter in place of unsweetened chocolate. I used 2 of my larger loaf pans (not sure what size)-but split batter between the pans and placed in the oven. i checked them part way thru cooking and noticed they were not rising much at all! Then I realized the 2 cups each of Flour and sugar, had only total 1C each b/c i had been using the 1/2 Measuring spoon! cooked for 55min and they were chocolatey and fudgey and still eatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
After reading several of the reviews I made sure to grease and flour my pans. I baked the bread for 80 minutes and even though the toothpick came out clean the pans were greased and floured the bread still stuck. This bread is delicious and I will make it again but next time I'm gonna leave it in the oven for 90 - 100 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLovePuppies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Myrtle, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I felt this recipe called for a lot of sugar. Instead of the 2 cups it called for I added 1 3/4. I had never made it before and didn't want to change too much initially. Having sampled them with the slightly reduced amount now, I will reduce even further next time. I also substituted 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour in place of all purpose white. The recipe is definitely a keeper. Everyone in my house loved them, just a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious. I would highly recommend, however, topping the loaves with chocolate chips. They'll sink to the bottom, and man alive--they do NOT want to come off the bottom of the pan! So, top away, and the loaves will come out fine. Added about 3/4 C of sour cream. Mm mm good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
So, so yummy. It's great as written, but I have tweaked it to our liking. I use much more chocolate because we LOVE chocolate. Three ounces of unsweetened chocolate, 2 TBS cocoa powder added to the dry ingredients, and a full cup of chocolate chips. And I have very strong cinnamon, so I only use a half tsp. It also works well when I use 1 cup white flour and 1 cup whole wheat. Have also replaced half the oil with applesauce. The whole family loves this treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emsderfer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Add a tbsp of cocoa and grease and flour the pans instead of just grease. Or use parchment paper. Put the chocolate chips on top not folded in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. I used gluten free flour and substituted coconut sugar in place of the white sugar. I made muffins and baked for 20 minutes. Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The chocolate flavor was perfect, and this turned out very moist. However, the chocolate pieces, although I had mixed them with the dry ingredients, sunk to the bottom and stuck to the pan, making the whole loaf stick to the bottom when I tried to remove it. Hence it was plated looking like a sunken mess. Next time, I will cut a piece of parchment do the bottom of the pan before pouring in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
made for second time this week. more like a choc. cake - very yummy. few changes I made: didn't measure zucchini just used what I had, so more like 3 cups; cut sugar to about one and a half cups; added a couple of spoonfulls of cocoa powder - this gave it a deep choc. taste; added a few spoonfulls of sour cream - this made it super moist. baked in Wilton Brand Pans (these are great, heavy duty and no stick), so a quick spray with Pam and they didn't stick at all. had only 1 loaf pan so put the rest into mini muffin pan (these cooked in 10 minutes). oh, used whole wheat flour as that is what I had on hand. (you can see i'm not big on exact measuring, this came out great both times! seems to be a very forgiving recipe, don't think you can mess it up)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This recipe is great! My kids even love it and they don't like anything with vegetables. They say it tastes like chocolate cake. I substitute 6 Tbsp. cocoa and 2 Tbsp. melted butter for the chocolate squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States