Chocolate Zucchini Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
To be fair... I did change it a lot per some of the other reviews. I felt like it tasted more like a cake than bread at the end. BUT IT WAS GOOD! I added a cup of sour cream to the wet ingredients because I hate it when bread comes out dry and sour cream always makes it more moist. I added two tablespoons of cocoa powder to the dry ingredients to make it a bit more chocolaty. I cut down the sugar so a little over 1 1/2 cups. I think next time I will do less. Maybe a little more than a cup. The sugar makes it very cake like. i used mini chocolate chips and did have a small sinkage problem. I think it was because the sour cream made it even more runny that it already was! And I used the whole bag :O I know. I didn't read the directions so I just dumped it in, haha. It was VERY chocolaty haha. But SUPER tasty that way. So the bread came out crazy moist because of the sour cream I think. Spray you pans crazy good. Both my loafs ripped. I bet it is good as written too. I love the kick the cinnamon gives it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Schinella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I have an old recipe for this but decided to give this one a try. One ingredient I can not leave out when making zucchini bread is ground cloves! It really enhances the chocolate flavor in any recipe! I did like this recipe, it came out most, not overly sweet. My recipe is slightly different..replace half the oil with unsweetened applesauce or cut the sugar down and use sweetened applesauce and of course, the ground cloves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I followed the directions pretty much exactly, except I put it in a sheet cake pan rather than loaves. It tastes great, but it has a slightly strange, kind of sharp, smell. It's not overly unpleasant, and it doesn't affect the taste. I've never made a zucchini bread before, so maybe that's just one of the side affects (or maybe just the zucchinis I used). Either way, still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
My family loved this recipe! It was very moist and chocolately. Almost tasted like German chocolate cake. I added nuts Rothko one of the loaves and our was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lacy Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Yummy. Very moist bread with a great flavor. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is an UNBELIEVABLY delicious "bread"! It's more like CAKE, and since you can't even taste the zucchini, keep telling everyone it really is zucchini bread! LOL. It was a huge hit w/everyone at work, and in my family, not to mention I myself, couldn't stop eating it. So maker, beware! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Would not change a thing!!! Just the way my sister-in-law used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit4life

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My family and I like zucchini bread, but this recipe takes like to love. This is a way to get kids to love it too. And college kids who have never liked it or never tried it, beg for more. Hands down the best. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Delicious! Sticking is a problem but Pam for baking works great. I also put the chips on top of the batter and then gently swirl them in before baking. This seems to work the best. I Cannot keep the bread around when I bake it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is a great recipe. I get lots of compliments but I have made some changes to make it more diabetic and low fat conscious. I added 3/4 cups of lite sour cream, added an extra cup of zucchini, I substitute the sugar with 3/4 brown sugar splenda and l/2 cup reg sugar, I added 1/2 cup of apple sauce and only put in 1/2 oil. I was also worried about how chocolatey it would be so I added 1/4 cup of cocoa. Very good and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States