Chocolate Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Chocolate Zucchini Cake... I added an extra TBLS of cocoa and 2 1/2 cups shredded zucchini. I increased the baking time to 40 minutes and it was wonderful. Perfect balance of chocolate and moistness. Family loved it with the chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
Very easy to prepare. This bar has a wonderful cakelike consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I have made this recipe many times now, and it gets rave reviews every time. I top this cake (because it is a cake!) with a chocolate cream cheese icing. It's dense and moist and delicious, it gets even better after a day or two (but doesn't always last that long) and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These bars were great. Super moist. I would say they're more like a very dense cake. I frosted them with a frosting recipe from this site (Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting)Everyone loved them. I will be making them again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Left out the dates and only baked for 30 minutes, but it turned out perfect. My family and colleauges love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
My son loves making this easy cake. A great way to use up zucchini when it's in season! We top it with a chocolate buttercream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was a great and simple recipe. The whole family loved it. I made them as muffins and cooked them for about 25-30 minutes. I substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil. And I did not frost these. It was unnecessary. There were perfectly sweet and moist. Being the chocoholic I am, I was worried about not having enough chocolate flavor, but I only had 4 T. of cocoa left, so that's all it got. The chocolate was not an overwhelming flavor, but it was great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is more a cake than a "bar," but it is delicious none the less! I topped it with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting and it did not last a day. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Try adding 1 tsp. cinnamon and about 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips and make this into muffins - takes a bit longer to bake than a reuglar muffin as it is fairly dense but - remarkably good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
My family loved this recipe. I served it as a cake and even had my husband, who is a picky eater, ask for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States