Chocolate Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2000
I had some zucchini given to me by a gardening friend -- what to do? My kids hate zucchini! So I made these, and despite the fact that I didn't manage to whip it up before my son caught me in the act of adding green stuff to the batter ("Mom, what IS that in there?"), they really liked these cake-like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
Very easy to prepare. This bar has a wonderful cakelike consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
I can't figure out why this recipe is called Chocolate bars, when it really is a cake. The author of the recipe even calls them cookies! This is a cake, folks. It is good chocolate cake and a good way to use up extra zucchini.For the calorie counters: I substitued Lighter Bake for the butter, and it cuts the fat yet you lose no moisture or taste. I also cut the sugar some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
bars were moist but did not come out as bars, more like cake or brownies, it was not as chocolatety as other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I agree with the others...this is definitely not a cookie or a bar. It's like a quickbread or even a cake. Very moist and yummy, with a subtle chocolate flavor. Makes me feel not quite so guilty about indulging!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I have made this recipe many times now, and it gets rave reviews every time. I top this cake (because it is a cake!) with a chocolate cream cheese icing. It's dense and moist and delicious, it gets even better after a day or two (but doesn't always last that long) and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. I was a little worried at first because the batter was quite thick and dry, but the cake(it is definately not a bar/cookie) turned out. I put a chocolate frosting on it which was good because the first 4 pieces that we ate were kind of dry, but I think that it was because they were edge pieces. Had another piece from the middle a bit later and that piece was very moist. Oh yeah... I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These bars were great. Super moist. I would say they're more like a very dense cake. I frosted them with a frosting recipe from this site (Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting)Everyone loved them. I will be making them again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Really not sweet enough - I'll try to make it again, this time with some chocolate chips added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Left out the dates and only baked for 30 minutes, but it turned out perfect. My family and colleauges love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States