Chocolate Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I have made this recipe many times now, and it gets rave reviews every time. I top this cake (because it is a cake!) with a chocolate cream cheese icing. It's dense and moist and delicious, it gets even better after a day or two (but doesn't always last that long) and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
I can't figure out why this recipe is called Chocolate bars, when it really is a cake. The author of the recipe even calls them cookies! This is a cake, folks. It is good chocolate cake and a good way to use up extra zucchini.For the calorie counters: I substitued Lighter Bake for the butter, and it cuts the fat yet you lose no moisture or taste. I also cut the sugar some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. I was a little worried at first because the batter was quite thick and dry, but the cake(it is definately not a bar/cookie) turned out. I put a chocolate frosting on it which was good because the first 4 pieces that we ate were kind of dry, but I think that it was because they were edge pieces. Had another piece from the middle a bit later and that piece was very moist. Oh yeah... I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2000
I had some zucchini given to me by a gardening friend -- what to do? My kids hate zucchini! So I made these, and despite the fact that I didn't manage to whip it up before my son caught me in the act of adding green stuff to the batter ("Mom, what IS that in there?"), they really liked these cake-like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These bars were great. Super moist. I would say they're more like a very dense cake. I frosted them with a frosting recipe from this site (Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting)Everyone loved them. I will be making them again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is more a cake than a "bar," but it is delicious none the less! I topped it with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting and it did not last a day. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
My family loved this recipe. I served it as a cake and even had my husband, who is a picky eater, ask for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Try adding 1 tsp. cinnamon and about 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips and make this into muffins - takes a bit longer to bake than a reuglar muffin as it is fairly dense but - remarkably good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Chocolate Zucchini Cake... I added an extra TBLS of cocoa and 2 1/2 cups shredded zucchini. I increased the baking time to 40 minutes and it was wonderful. Perfect balance of chocolate and moistness. Family loved it with the chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
No, this is definitely not a cookie, or even a bar. It's a cake. It's a very good cake, but it IS a cake. I didn't frost this, but served it with whipped cream. We enjoyed this for dessert and breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States