Chocolate Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
My son loves making this easy cake. A great way to use up zucchini when it's in season! We top it with a chocolate buttercream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Chocolate Zucchini Cake... I added an extra TBLS of cocoa and 2 1/2 cups shredded zucchini. I increased the baking time to 40 minutes and it was wonderful. Perfect balance of chocolate and moistness. Family loved it with the chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I added 2 more tablespoons of chocolate, but DH still complained it wasn't chocolaty enough, so next time will add more. This is not a bar, it's a cake. I found it to be very moist & with the chocolate buttercream frosting on top, very rich. Due to the complaint about the chocolate I have to give it 4 stars instead of 5, but I thought it was very good. A great way to sneak in veggies without anyone knowing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH441

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Left out the dates and only baked for 30 minutes, but it turned out perfect. My family and colleauges love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Really not sweet enough - I'll try to make it again, this time with some chocolate chips added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These bars were great. Super moist. I would say they're more like a very dense cake. I frosted them with a frosting recipe from this site (Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting)Everyone loved them. I will be making them again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. I was a little worried at first because the batter was quite thick and dry, but the cake(it is definately not a bar/cookie) turned out. I put a chocolate frosting on it which was good because the first 4 pieces that we ate were kind of dry, but I think that it was because they were edge pieces. Had another piece from the middle a bit later and that piece was very moist. Oh yeah... I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I have made this recipe many times now, and it gets rave reviews every time. I top this cake (because it is a cake!) with a chocolate cream cheese icing. It's dense and moist and delicious, it gets even better after a day or two (but doesn't always last that long) and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I agree with the others...this is definitely not a cookie or a bar. It's like a quickbread or even a cake. Very moist and yummy, with a subtle chocolate flavor. Makes me feel not quite so guilty about indulging!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
bars were moist but did not come out as bars, more like cake or brownies, it was not as chocolatety as other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States