Chocolate Yule Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Cozycook*
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
When this actually comes out looking the way it's supposed to..it's beautiful! And the quality of the taste is amazing-so rich. The filling is my favorite and can be used on any cake as well. love love love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by yeels
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Quite an easy recipe to work with. I find that the icing is really really sweet but I guess that's how dessert it supposed to be. It tasted really yummy and my friends really enjoyed eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Oh wow. Wow. Takes some time but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spudjnr123
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This cake came out fantastically. I made some minor tweaks to the recipe in the flavor department, (I didn't use coffee, just a regular light chocolate ganache, and the top frosting was a dark chocolate ganache. The cake rolled very easily, perfect texture. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I first made this yule log for a Christmas 2010 party and it was a huge hit! I think the mocha filling is what makes this recipe special. I love the sponge cake. My best friend tells me to this day that this is the best dessert she has ever eaten! I made marzipan mushrooms ahead of time for decoration and sprinkled the finished cake with powdered sugar to look like snow. This recipe is now in my treasured Christmas file and I hope to make it every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Tomato

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Perfection! It looked like it came from a patisserie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Perfect recipe! !!! I had no problems with this. Everything came out as it should. Only thing i changed was i used Mocha flavor gel instead of coffee granules. The other reviews that said they had problems our" powder" results i don't understand how, cause mine did not come out like that. This could be in 5 star restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westover, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved the look and taste of this. Even though the cake cracked as I rolled it, the frosting hid it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!!! This will become a tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent! I opted to not use the Mocha Buttercream Frosting and went with a basic ganache, but the rest of the recipe was outstanding! Rave reviews from the Christmas dinner crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States