Chocolate Wave Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Delicious, more like cake. I made cupcakes with it, and I just mixed the chocolate in. I also iced them with peanut butter frosting, and they were great. I used oil instead of shortening. I will try the applesauce suggestion to reduce the fat. I also used whole wheat flour, and they turned out great. An excellent way to sneak some nutrition into cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe was easy and tasty. My 6 year old son who is very fussy, loved it. This is one of the few ways to get any veggies into him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I've made this twice now, and wouldn't change a thing (other than leaving out the nuts, since I'm not a fan). Whoever said it was too much chocolate was crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiefan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
We love this recipe. I substitute the oil with applesauce, to make it a little healthier. I double the chocolate and make it all chocolate, it's better than brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Reichhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Mmmm good. My family was scared when I said I was making zucchini bread but then they couldn't stop eating it after it came out of the oven! Moist, chocolaty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Yummy! Some of it stuck in the pan, but that's all my fault. Next time I'll make sure I do a better job greasing the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was so moist, and incredible tasting! Even my husband (who said zucchini BREAD????!!!??) loved it! I also put the chocolate chips in the white layer. I think next time I make this I will try the chocolate layer on the bottom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma Lo
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I really wish I could give this recipe 4.5 stars. I used applesauce and fat-free sour cream in place of the shortening to cut out some of the fat, and I substiuted some of the sugar with honey, but I forgot to put a little (more) baking soda in it to neutralize the bitterness, so the bread had a bit of a funny aftertaste. But it was still delicious. I didn't halve the batter accurately, so I ended up with more chocolate dough than regular dough. I layered the two mixtured, which was quite attractive in the final presentation. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was good, had good flavor, but my husband kept saying the chocolate layer was too dry, said the texture was too much like cocoa powder. Maybe I didn't split the batter evenly? It was good and I might make this again, but I'll probably continue looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
YUM. Gotta love using veggies to make something sweet and delicious! Being a dietitian, I can never leave a recipe alone...so here are my modifications: canola oil for shortening; decreased sugar to 3/4 cup; used 1/2c AP flour, 1/2+1/3c WW flour, and 1/3c oats; for spices used 3/4t cinnamon, 1/8t cloves and 1/8t nutmeg; mixed pecans and walnuts together and toasted them; and finally...flax paste for eggs (for EACH egg, mix 1T ground flaxseed plur 3T water in a saucepan and boil until gooey, eggy consistency...then mix into batter like you would the eggs). Just need a little extra baking powder (heaping spoon). Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States