Chocolate Wave Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
WOW! We call it "Zed Bread" and it has become a staple in our home. My nine year old requests it all the time. Pretty impressive from a kid who says that zucchini makes him gag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I didn't use quite as much chocolate chips and I subsituted pecans because I didn't have walnuts. I thought it was very moist. Next time I might add both nuts just because I like more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
A very delicious sweet treat! I found the chocolate batter to be difficult to spread evenly because it was so thick but the flavor after baked was very pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Love it - love it - love it! My son's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I can't help myself to change recipes a bit. I always try to make them a little healthier - I never have everything on hand. I made a double batch and did 50/50 whole wheat and whole wheat white flour. I used canola oil instead of the shortening and decreased the oil by about 25%. Only had about 1/2 cp. white sugar, so I topped off with lt. brown sugar and decreased by 25%. I used allspice and a walnut, almond, peacan blend. My breads were crisp on the outside - moist on the inside at 54 minutes. Absolutely delicious. I marbled them in 2 different ways, but I think layers were the way to go. The chocolate dominates the bread with it marbled. this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I followed one reviewer's advice and left out a small portion of the sugar. I won't do that again. I would consider doing as another reviewer said and just adding the cocoa to the entire batch. The amount of cocoa mentioned is plenty, almost too much for just one half of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Really, really good! I leave out the nuts because of allergies, but it's still great. I do line the bottom of the loaf pan with waxed paper because I had a problem getting it out of the pan intact the first time I made it. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I've made this twice and it was devoured each time by kids -- they have no idea they're eating zucchini! I made it a little healthier by using egg substitute and Promise (butter substitute) for the shortening. I did not add the walnuts for allergy reasons. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I baked these into 5 small/mini bundt cakes. The flavor was pretty good, but nothing outstanding for a zuccchini bread. I tried to layer the cake like is said, but found the chocolate layer ended up being heavier and started to sink down into the original batter. I have had better chocolate zucchini recipes before, but this one is alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Delicious! I ended up using more zucchini than the recipe called for but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States