Chocolate Wave Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I've made this several times now and it's always nice and moist. I prefer to put the chocolate chips in the white side. Since I never seem to have pumpkin pie spice, I use cinnamon or nutmeg. Once I tried doubling the recipe. It turned out, but doubling the sugar was a bad idea - it was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Easy, great recipe. I substituted sweetened applesauce equivalent and decreased the sugar to 1 cup. Bakes very nicely, moist and fun for the kids to spot the "wave".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Very good recipe! Instead of making the wave, I made it marbled. Alternate droping the plain batter and the chocolate batter by the tablespoon full into the loaf pan. This makes a beautiful marbled effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I must have done something strange...it just didnt taste right, pretty bad actully. The Zucchini might have been old or i may have cooked it to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I for one loved the "wave" part of the recipe and didn't feel it was too much extra work. I layered the two different batters diagonally from one corner to the other and rotating corners with each flavor. After slicing, I truly saw a "wave" throughout the bread. My family loved the bread and the pumpkin pie spice was a really nice compliment to the chocolate. I will definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Great recipe. My son's on chemo & its a struggle to find foods that he will eat. He's had 3 pieces today alone! Made a few minor changes: used cinnamon instead of pumpkin, replaced 2/3 white sugar w/ brown, replaced tsp. vanilla w/ 2 tsp. brandy & used lowfat milk instead of water. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was great! I thought it was very simple to prepare. My husband loved it! I followed recipe except did not add nuts(don't like them). It's a keeper! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Excellent - the most moist and flavorful zucchini bread I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
We liked this bread since it works as a snack bread or even dessert. I'm with the other reviewers, the chocolate wave effort wasn't worth the trouble. Next time I'll lump it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I thought this was a great zucchini recipe, but I did make a few adjustments. I couldn't find our loaf pan so I used a square 8 x 8 in pan and cooked it for only 1/2 an hour. Also, I used 1/2 the sugar it said to use and the rest I substituted with splenda. It came out moist and full of flavor. I might recomend using more chocolate chips though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States