Chocolate Wave Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was good, had good flavor, but my husband kept saying the chocolate layer was too dry, said the texture was too much like cocoa powder. Maybe I didn't split the batter evenly? It was good and I might make this again, but I'll probably continue looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
YUM. Gotta love using veggies to make something sweet and delicious! Being a dietitian, I can never leave a recipe alone...so here are my modifications: canola oil for shortening; decreased sugar to 3/4 cup; used 1/2c AP flour, 1/2+1/3c WW flour, and 1/3c oats; for spices used 3/4t cinnamon, 1/8t cloves and 1/8t nutmeg; mixed pecans and walnuts together and toasted them; and finally...flax paste for eggs (for EACH egg, mix 1T ground flaxseed plur 3T water in a saucepan and boil until gooey, eggy consistency...then mix into batter like you would the eggs). Just need a little extra baking powder (heaping spoon). Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I did the recipe a little bit differently. I added 1/2 cup regular, sweetened applesauce instead of the shortening. I also added half white and half whole wheat flour. (I added more applesauce because of the whole wheat flour. I also added a little more water.)Then, I made them into muffins. I filled the muffin holders first with the regular batter and then with the chocolately batter. They take about 9-12 minutes, depending on how full you fill them. I ended up with 19 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Pluckebaum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This turned out really nice looking. It was very moist and I really liked the chocolate part. I did use butter instead of shortening because I don't like using shortening. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and I was out of pumpkin pie spice so I used 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. I also omitted the walnuts but added some chopped pecans to the plain half. I think next time I will leave out the nuts all together and forget about the spice, so it's more of a chocolate/vanilla type of thing. But I'm not huge spice lover so there you go. This is a very good zucchini bread though and I'll probably be using this recipe anytime I have some zucchini to use up! *UPDATE* Ok, I've been eating this all week at this is a seroiusly good zucchini bread! I really like it! Now I think the spice is fine, but I will still leave out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My first experience with zucchini in baked goods and it was delicious with a great moist texture. I decided to put the chocolate chips into the lighter bottom half of the loaf so that I could have chocolate in every bite - but beware to let the loaf cool completely before turning it out because the melted chocolate chips made the bottom split. (still tastes good, though). I made two loaves - one regular and one vegan. I only changed the second by replacing the eggs with 1/4 cup oil and 1/3 cup cooked tapioca, and I got some vegan chocolate chips. This didn't yield as fluffy a loaf, but I liked the denser one just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I don't know what happened. It probably had a lot to do with using applesauce and Splenda - I don't usually have much luck in decreasing the fat content with these two ingredients. I know one thing... I used the last of the Splenda and I'll never buy it again. So unfortunate, as this looked so nice and sounded so yummy. I also didn't like the chocolate chips in the chocolate batter, for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Very good recipe! The chocolate portion o the bread is rich and moist while the zucchini part is nicely spiced. Great blend and fun to serve in slices at functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This zucchini bread is awesome! My husband and my son loved it and so did everyone else. Instead of doing the wave effect, I alternated the chocolate batter with the plain batter and made a nice-looking marbel effect. It looked great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Very good recipe. I didn't do the wave. I just mixed everything together to get a chocolate loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Great use of extra zucchini. The chocolate makes it super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States