Chocolate Wave Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
A new favorite!! So moist. The chocolate layer is very rich and chocolatey and the zucchini layer is nice and spicy. I love how moist it is without tasting like oil, like some zucchini breads do. I forgot to swirl it but the 2 layers looks pretty too. This is going into the family favorite folder right now! Oh, for 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice use: 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp allspice and 1/8 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This is a very good bread with an interesting look. We are trying to cut down on fat, so I used the equivalent amount of applesauce in place of the shortening and it turned out beautifully. I didn't feel as guilty about the chocolate chips then! I love the layered look. I also sifted the cocoa powder in to the batter to avoid clumps. This will be a repeat recipe in our house. Love this recipe and have shared it with family and friends. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This zucchini bread recipe is yummy and a keeper. Although, next time i think i will use 2T. cocoa powder instead of 3T. because it is very chocolatey with the addition of chocolate chips. I made one loaf of this recipe last night in addition to two loaves of my own recipe. Everyone absolutely loved every last bit of them. For a variation, try adding 1/2 c. shredded coconut plus 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. almond extract to the batter and you will be in for a delicious suprise. I do this with my other recipes sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKWAHINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Very good recipe! Instead of making the wave, I made it marbled. Alternate droping the plain batter and the chocolate batter by the tablespoon full into the loaf pan. This makes a beautiful marbled effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I've made this several times now and it's always nice and moist. I prefer to put the chocolate chips in the white side. Since I never seem to have pumpkin pie spice, I use cinnamon or nutmeg. Once I tried doubling the recipe. It turned out, but doubling the sugar was a bad idea - it was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Absolutely delicious! Baked this loaf twice. The first time, the loaf burned on the outside before the center was cooked. Discovered that my oven is about 50 degrees hotter than it says. Second time I baked the loaf, it turned out perfectly, with the needed temp adjustments. Took 1 hour and 20 minutes to bake. I sent the good loaf with my boyfriend on a 4 day hunting trip with 3 other men. I hear that it was gone in 10 minutes, once opened. I really enjoyed the pumpkin pie spice in the recipe. The men loved the chocolate chips. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This is the best zucchini loaf ever. Everybody loved it. I had to make another one two days later. I loved the wave effect. I also made it all chocolate, just added more cocoa to the entire batter, then poured half the batter in the pan then added same amount of chocolate chips to remaining batter. Excellent either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
What a delicious change from regular zucchini bread! The two flavors (chocolate and zucchini) blend together so nicely...looks nice too...would make a great gift. I liked this recipe so much I think I will do this with my favorite banana bread recipe and make chocolate - banana wave bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
A very delicious sweet treat! I found the chocolate batter to be difficult to spread evenly because it was so thick but the flavor after baked was very pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Wow! This was fantastic! I made a double batch, had a little batter left over and made six muffins....I barely let the muffins cool before I had to try one, they smelled soooo good! And the flavor didn't disappoint! This recipe is delicious! I did make a couple of changes for healthiness points: used applesauce instead of shortening, 100% white whole wheat flour (from trader joes), dark chocolate chocolate chips, and an extra cup of zucchini. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States