Chocolate Wave Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was so moist, and incredible tasting! Even my husband (who said zucchini BREAD????!!!??) loved it! I also put the chocolate chips in the white layer. I think next time I make this I will try the chocolate layer on the bottom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma Lo
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I really wish I could give this recipe 4.5 stars. I used applesauce and fat-free sour cream in place of the shortening to cut out some of the fat, and I substiuted some of the sugar with honey, but I forgot to put a little (more) baking soda in it to neutralize the bitterness, so the bread had a bit of a funny aftertaste. But it was still delicious. I didn't halve the batter accurately, so I ended up with more chocolate dough than regular dough. I layered the two mixtured, which was quite attractive in the final presentation. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was good, had good flavor, but my husband kept saying the chocolate layer was too dry, said the texture was too much like cocoa powder. Maybe I didn't split the batter evenly? It was good and I might make this again, but I'll probably continue looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
YUM. Gotta love using veggies to make something sweet and delicious! Being a dietitian, I can never leave a recipe alone...so here are my modifications: canola oil for shortening; decreased sugar to 3/4 cup; used 1/2c AP flour, 1/2+1/3c WW flour, and 1/3c oats; for spices used 3/4t cinnamon, 1/8t cloves and 1/8t nutmeg; mixed pecans and walnuts together and toasted them; and finally...flax paste for eggs (for EACH egg, mix 1T ground flaxseed plur 3T water in a saucepan and boil until gooey, eggy consistency...then mix into batter like you would the eggs). Just need a little extra baking powder (heaping spoon). Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I did the recipe a little bit differently. I added 1/2 cup regular, sweetened applesauce instead of the shortening. I also added half white and half whole wheat flour. (I added more applesauce because of the whole wheat flour. I also added a little more water.)Then, I made them into muffins. I filled the muffin holders first with the regular batter and then with the chocolately batter. They take about 9-12 minutes, depending on how full you fill them. I ended up with 19 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Pluckebaum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This turned out really nice looking. It was very moist and I really liked the chocolate part. I did use butter instead of shortening because I don't like using shortening. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and I was out of pumpkin pie spice so I used 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. I also omitted the walnuts but added some chopped pecans to the plain half. I think next time I will leave out the nuts all together and forget about the spice, so it's more of a chocolate/vanilla type of thing. But I'm not huge spice lover so there you go. This is a very good zucchini bread though and I'll probably be using this recipe anytime I have some zucchini to use up! *UPDATE* Ok, I've been eating this all week at this is a seroiusly good zucchini bread! I really like it! Now I think the spice is fine, but I will still leave out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My first experience with zucchini in baked goods and it was delicious with a great moist texture. I decided to put the chocolate chips into the lighter bottom half of the loaf so that I could have chocolate in every bite - but beware to let the loaf cool completely before turning it out because the melted chocolate chips made the bottom split. (still tastes good, though). I made two loaves - one regular and one vegan. I only changed the second by replacing the eggs with 1/4 cup oil and 1/3 cup cooked tapioca, and I got some vegan chocolate chips. This didn't yield as fluffy a loaf, but I liked the denser one just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I don't know what happened. It probably had a lot to do with using applesauce and Splenda - I don't usually have much luck in decreasing the fat content with these two ingredients. I know one thing... I used the last of the Splenda and I'll never buy it again. So unfortunate, as this looked so nice and sounded so yummy. I also didn't like the chocolate chips in the chocolate batter, for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Very good recipe! The chocolate portion o the bread is rich and moist while the zucchini part is nicely spiced. Great blend and fun to serve in slices at functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This zucchini bread is awesome! My husband and my son loved it and so did everyone else. Instead of doing the wave effect, I alternated the chocolate batter with the plain batter and made a nice-looking marbel effect. It looked great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States