Chocolate Walnut Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
We traditionally use cocoa instead of chocolate chips, but I misplaced my recipe. I used this as a guide and used 1/3 cup cocoa, 1/3 cup Karo syrup, and 1/2 cup powdered sugar in a wafer and walnut mix. Liberal with the brandy :-) Then I rolled in powdered sugar. We keep them in the freezer and eat them frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The rum is really overpowering, in my opinion. However, it did lessen over a week's time, and my relatives did really like them. I added cinnamon to the mix and it gave it a bananas foster flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is fantastic and easy to make. I used Malibu Rum coconut flavor and it added that special flavor. I then made 3 batches, 1 rolled in coconut flakes, another rolled in regular sugar, and the last in powdered sugar. All came out very very yummy. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Love these treats! I make these every Christmas! Defenitely refrigerate overnight before eating. I have found that if you eat them right away the rum flavor is very strong.....it kind of mellows and the flavors blend after sitting awhile in the fridge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Just a tip to take your rum flavor to another level. Add two vanilla beans to your bottle of rum and let it sit for a month. Shake once a week sure you have to plan ahead but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were delicious, may be not so moist. I made these with rum and I tried Amaretto liqueur too. I liked all combinations. I used 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I tried a batch of these on some friends and family just before x-mas. At least 12 of us tasted them and all had strong opinions. I gave this recipe 3 stars because 1/2 of us really liked these and begged for more, the other 1/2 of us hated them. The alcohol is not cooked out of the rum balls and the taste is very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These tasted yummy; however, the granulated sugar spoiled the effect. The sugar crunches when you chew them. I would add more rum, more nuts, and use powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I searched high and low for the perfect Rum Ball recipe, and this is it! I use Capt. Morgan's Spiced Rum......and instead of rolling them in sugar, I use coconut (which you can color for holidays) or finely chopped walnuts. They make great gifts too....with that personal touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These taste great and are so simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States