Chocolate Walnut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This had a nice texture and was easy to make - even in a very humid Japanese summer there was no difficulty getting it to set. The first time I made it I used a large bar of milk chocolate and another of dark chocolate, but I found it too bland and sweet. For my second try I used all dark chocolate, of a higher quality than chocolate chips. I also reduced the butter slightly. I liked the second batch better. I still think the flavor needs a bit more 'oomph', maybe orange extract as suggested by another reviewer, or another flavour, would pep it up. A good basic recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
The texture was okay, but I all I could taste was chocolate chips. Not that chocolate chips are bad, but I would like a more complex flavor. Maybe next time I'll add some peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIBYLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Pretty good fudge. I wish I'd read the reviews or I would've used milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet chocolate since I didn't think it had a rich enough taste for my liking. I had to put it in the freezer for it to set up, but at least it set up! I live in DC and for fudge to set up in DC in the summer is a miracle! For those of you who live in humid climates, be warned that it is NEXT TO IMPOSSIBLE to make any kind of candy in humidity. Trust me, I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly; used the 5 oz of evaporated milk and exact directions. However, it turned out the consistency of molasses, even after chilling in the fridge for 24 hours and beating it in my KitchenAid mixer for 20 minutes while it was hot. Great fudge taste, but it sadly never turned into fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Very good, easy to make. I used milk chocolate chips instead of the semi sweet as some suggested. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I made this fudge for a church potluck. It only took me about 15-20 minutes to make it was so easy! Cleanup was really easy to! We thought it was so fast to make we made a batch for ourselves too! Unfortunately the potluck got canceled...so we ended up eating it all to ourselves lol. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is the first fudge recipe I've ever tried makign and it came out absolutely wonderful on the first try! I've also made it with the orange extract as another reviewer suggested and it was also really really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I like a sweeter, richer fudge so I normally use milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. I found that if you use them in this recepie, then omit the vanilla as it changes the taste completely and leaves a bad aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My daughter and I just made this fudge. It is good!! The only thing I did differently...was lined my pan with aluminum foil to make them come out a little easier. My daughter asked if I would put them on the table, so she could eat them all day? NOT! I recommend this recipe! Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made this as christmas presents for friends and family and everyone just loved it. It was my first time making fudge and this recipe was very easy fool proof! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States