Chocolate Walnut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This is wonderful! I made it last night for Christmas gifts. It is delicious and it is firm but not dry. Cuts cleanly and into perfect squares. Very cute gift idea in metal tins. Little mess, and VERY simple! I will be making this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I have never had success with fudge until trying this recipe. It turned out so creamy and, well just perfect. I got rave reviews by everyone that has tried a piece. I would suggest using a candy thermometer just to eliminate any doubt on when it is ready to take off the stove. I did a slight varation on it - First of all I doubled the recipe and left out the walnuts. I also used 1/3 milk chocolate chips and 2/3 semi-sweet (my personal preference). After I poured it into two pans I topped one pan with crushed candy canes and the other with walnut halves. Both versions went over really well but people seemed to really like the one with the candy cane on top. Very festive looking too. The only suggestion I have is to give a approximate time needed to beat the mixture. I wasn't totally sure if the gloss was gone but I had been beating for about five minutes (in a KitchenAid mixer) and was afraid of over doing it. It would have been nice to have a general guideline. Thank you for this recipe. I'm already planning on making it again tomorrow to give away as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAJP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I didn't make this,,my husband did. Having said that..it never firmed up for him,,but boy it was great on top of ice cream! I don't know what he did wrong, but I hope it happens again, because it was a big hit for sundaes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
The best!!!!! very easy no mess and tastes great!! i love this recipe..thank you so much for posting this...i served this at a party and it was a huge hit! i gave the recipe to about 10 people..i have never had any luck with fudge before i tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Good recipe. My husband did not want to share this with others, he said it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nay nay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
So yummy! We ate way too much of this! Use a bigger saucepan than you think you'll need, because it just about doubles in size as it cooks and you don't want any boil-over accidents. I lined my pan with foil too so I can just lift the whole thing up, peel the foil off and cut it up on a cutting board. When it says to beat until it "loses its gloss" I thought I hadn't done it long enough (it was still a little glossy), but it set up perfectly. I love the crunch walnuts add to this. ******UPDATE: Made this again 12/20/5 with orange extract instead of vanilla, kept everything else the same. It was SO GOOD! Try it this way, or use your favorite flavor. (Kept the amount of extract the same, using "real", not artificial, orange flavoring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This was a good tasting batch of fudge. I'll have to warn people going to make this, to use a big pot; it boils and doubles in size. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but mine keeps turning out soft. Maybe I'm not beating it long enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Mine didnt set up, but it was still really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This fudge turned out perfect. It was well worth the bit of time it took to boil the mixture . One thing I found was; even with constant stirring on the heat, I still scorched it somewhat. You really need to be careful with that. The beating was a little exhausting ,but the fudge was so delicious, creamy consistency, and set up so beautifully. Thanks so much Amber, for submitting this great fudge recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I followed this recipe to a T and it did not work at all. The mixture never really thickened and didn't lose its gloss even after 30 minutes of beating it by mixer. Its been in ther freezer for 2 days and its still wants to be "runny". I don't know what I did wrong but I'm dissappointed because I really wanted this fudge to work. O Well, if anyone knows the fix let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States