Chocolate Walnut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a really tasty and easy recipe. The walnut crust was delicious and not too sweet. The chocolate was soft and rich. The combination worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These were way too good. We ate them way too fast. When warm, the top tastes like lava cake filling. The crust is awesome. Both my husband and I loved these, and they were fast and easy to make and I already had all the ingredients on hand. I only dare make this again if I need to bring a dessert to something as it was just too tempting to have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
This was incredibly easy to make although I needed about 25-30 minutes in the oven for the chocolate to set fully. They are delicious straight from the fridge and VERY chocolatey!!!. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I made these bars and took some to the office and some to my son's home. Everyone including me love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Don't make these if you would rather not eat the whole pan at once, because you won't be able to stop yourself! They are SO GOOD!!!!! Don't worry if the batter doesn't mix perfectly (I had a lot of little bits of butter that wouldn't mix in). They will turn out very tasty anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
These are fabulous - like an English Toffee bar. I used Pecans instead of walnuts and substituted 1/4 cup wheat flour for the white. Yummy right from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diabetic Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I was skeptical while I was making these. The chocolate batter was runny and I didn't think it had set up well. Once they cooled a bit I stuck them in the fridge and I pressed a slivered almond on the top of each bar. They are quite small but so rich and delicious you wouldn't want them any bigger. Great flavor and so easy to make. This one a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Made only the crust (with pecans rather than walnuts) and, after baking the crust as directed, topped with a traditional brownie mix. My Sunday school kids loved these "Butter Crust Brownies!" Used real butter for the crust and the aroma while the crust was baking was heavenly. I made a triple batch of the crust and pressed it into a pan that is larger than the usual 9 x 13. It's what I call a lasagne pan. The resulting crust was a nice foundation for a classic brownie. A little crunchy and a lot buttery! The perfect counterpoint to the Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge brownie mix. Needed something totally different to jazz up a brownie mix and just knew this addition would be a hit! A huge merci beaucoups to the person who developed/submitted the walnut bar recipe. He/she inspired me! God's blessings to all of you, Frenchie in the Beautiful Bluegrass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Perfect in every way! May try pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Oh my, so good! I followed the recipe as written with one exception; I sprinkled mini chocolate chips on top right out of the oven. The crust was very tender (20 minutes provided a slightly browned crust) and the chocolate on top was just gooey enough. I had no trouble cutting them at room temp with a buttered knife. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States