Chocolate Walnut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Simple, rich and delicious! I have made this twice now and everyone who has tried it loves it. You cannot expect it to be something it is not; but it sure is EVERYTHING it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Oh my, so good! I followed the recipe as written with one exception; I sprinkled mini chocolate chips on top right out of the oven. The crust was very tender (20 minutes provided a slightly browned crust) and the chocolate on top was just gooey enough. I had no trouble cutting them at room temp with a buttered knife. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I really liked the crust - the chocolate part was a little odd, but I will probably make again. I used 1/4 c sugar in the crust and 1/4 c in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a great dessert for people who like really rich chocolate. I for one do so I loved it. Instead of putting the sugar on top I wonder what crushed walnuts would do for it. Also walnuts mixed in the chocolate? Something to think about...... I did not rate this 5 out of 5 because the first time I made it, the bars were hard to get out of the pan in one piece. Trying again today....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. these were not brownies at all. i should have known better: cocoa powder & water does not make fudgy chocolaty brownies. i followed the recipe to a T & i ended up w/ 1/8 inch thick butter nut thingamajigs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These were way too good. We ate them way too fast. When warm, the top tastes like lava cake filling. The crust is awesome. Both my husband and I loved these, and they were fast and easy to make and I already had all the ingredients on hand. I only dare make this again if I need to bring a dessert to something as it was just too tempting to have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Perfect in every way! May try pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Easy to make, but too bland. I was expecting a more chocolatey flavor. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My rating and review is based purely on the merits of the recipe. Nothing extraordinary with the crust, its a simple butter crust with walnuts. The filling resembles a badly proportioned brownie recipe. It lacks a chocolatey flavor and is generally bland and lifeless. I did not want to waste what I baked so we had it with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream, but even then, my friends just ate the ice cream and just a bite of the bar. This is definitely an over-rated recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Made only the crust (with pecans rather than walnuts) and, after baking the crust as directed, topped with a traditional brownie mix. My Sunday school kids loved these "Butter Crust Brownies!" Used real butter for the crust and the aroma while the crust was baking was heavenly. I made a triple batch of the crust and pressed it into a pan that is larger than the usual 9 x 13. It's what I call a lasagne pan. The resulting crust was a nice foundation for a classic brownie. A little crunchy and a lot buttery! The perfect counterpoint to the Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge brownie mix. Needed something totally different to jazz up a brownie mix and just knew this addition would be a hit! A huge merci beaucoups to the person who developed/submitted the walnut bar recipe. He/she inspired me! God's blessings to all of you, Frenchie in the Beautiful Bluegrass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States