Chocolate Walnut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Simple, rich and delicious! I have made this twice now and everyone who has tried it loves it. You cannot expect it to be something it is not; but it sure is EVERYTHING it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Oh my, so good! I followed the recipe as written with one exception; I sprinkled mini chocolate chips on top right out of the oven. The crust was very tender (20 minutes provided a slightly browned crust) and the chocolate on top was just gooey enough. I had no trouble cutting them at room temp with a buttered knife. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I really liked the crust - the chocolate part was a little odd, but I will probably make again. I used 1/4 c sugar in the crust and 1/4 c in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a great dessert for people who like really rich chocolate. I for one do so I loved it. Instead of putting the sugar on top I wonder what crushed walnuts would do for it. Also walnuts mixed in the chocolate? Something to think about...... I did not rate this 5 out of 5 because the first time I made it, the bars were hard to get out of the pan in one piece. Trying again today....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. these were not brownies at all. i should have known better: cocoa powder & water does not make fudgy chocolaty brownies. i followed the recipe to a T & i ended up w/ 1/8 inch thick butter nut thingamajigs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These were way too good. We ate them way too fast. When warm, the top tastes like lava cake filling. The crust is awesome. Both my husband and I loved these, and they were fast and easy to make and I already had all the ingredients on hand. I only dare make this again if I need to bring a dessert to something as it was just too tempting to have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Perfect in every way! May try pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Easy to make, but too bland. I was expecting a more chocolatey flavor. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My rating and review is based purely on the merits of the recipe. Nothing extraordinary with the crust, its a simple butter crust with walnuts. The filling resembles a badly proportioned brownie recipe. It lacks a chocolatey flavor and is generally bland and lifeless. I did not want to waste what I baked so we had it with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream, but even then, my friends just ate the ice cream and just a bite of the bar. This is definitely an over-rated recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Made only the crust (with pecans rather than walnuts) and, after baking the crust as directed, topped with a traditional brownie mix. My Sunday school kids loved these "Butter Crust Brownies!" Used real butter for the crust and the aroma while the crust was baking was heavenly. I made a triple batch of the crust and pressed it into a pan that is larger than the usual 9 x 13. It's what I call a lasagne pan. The resulting crust was a nice foundation for a classic brownie. A little crunchy and a lot buttery! The perfect counterpoint to the Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge brownie mix. Needed something totally different to jazz up a brownie mix and just knew this addition would be a hit! A huge merci beaucoups to the person who developed/submitted the walnut bar recipe. He/she inspired me! God's blessings to all of you, Frenchie in the Beautiful Bluegrass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States