Chocolate Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I changed the butter to 1/2 cup oil. It worked! These taste great. I suggest that you wait a while after they're done to take them out of the waffle iron because they tend to not stay together. Maybe if I set them on medium dark instead of medium they'd come out easier? We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
We liked this recipe. I used 3 whole eggs instead of the 6 egg whites, just didn't want to waste a bunch of eggs. The waffles turned out very nice. We topped them with whipped cream and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I love chocolate and the recipe did not make the batter smell or taste very chocolate-y, so What I did was I took an additional cup of the chocolate chips and 1/2 a cup of whipped cream and melted them together. It formed a very rich chocolate mix to add to the batter. The taste was incredible, but the next time I make these waffles I will add some oil to the batter, the waffles crumble slightly, and I want it all together. As toppings I treated the waffle like it was desert, sliced strawberries, whipped cream, butterscotch topping and chopped pecans. It was for a girls night in and my friends loved them. We all ate too much! They pair well with a nice blush wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made this for Valentine's Day breakfast w/ my heart-shaped waffle maker, just perfect! Nice and fluffy with a light chocolate taste. I served with butter, powdered sugar and the raspberry sauce recipe on here. So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I added 4 tablespoons of Frye's Cocoa, 1 well ripened banana, some cinnamon... and it turned out AMAZING. My family raved about the recipe. It's a subtle chocolatey flavor so if you want it more chocolatey, add more chocolate chips! It was good even a day later... resembled chocolate cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Not a bad recipe at all. The chocolate is very subtle and very light. If you want more chocolate flavor maybe add more chips or cocoa powder. I used quinoa flour instead of regular and it adds a light nutty flavor. I also used 3 eggs instead of 6 egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndfascia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My kids love chocolate chip pancakes so I thought this would be a good change. However, we did not care for them. They did not have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
wow these were great!! putting cream/whipped cream on them helps make them more moist. this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
mmmm mmmmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remmy3030

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I'm glad I tried this, but I don't know if I'll make them again. The taste reminded me of brownies, which I like. It was tricky to find the right temperature for cooking these. No matter what setting I tried, they came out on the soft side, so I don't think they'd ever be a crispy waffle. I prefer them not to be crispy anyway. I'd recommend them with whipped cream. Traditional syrup loses its flavor when it competes with the chocolate. Unfortunately, my husband proclaimed himself to be a purist and wasn't very excited about trying this, and I wish I had known that first. He ate it and said he liked it, but some people just don't appreciate creative cooking. The recipe is quite generous. My husband and I made 3 waffles in the Waring Pro and had most of the batter left over. If I make it again, I will scale it to 4-5 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States