Chocolate Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
not a very good tasteing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This recipe is not too rich, but it is good for putting toppings on and not suffering from overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
That is alot baking pwdr! I only used one tsp. Also, didn't want to separate all those eggs, so I used the whole eggs and only 3 of them. Also, put a pkg. of hot choc. mix in to add more flavor. Were ok, not sure if I would make them again. Ate with lots of whipped cream. Watching my salt intake so only used 1/4 tsp. of salt. I was complaining the other day about people changing up the recipe and then giving a bad rating, so I will give this one 4 stars since I did make some changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I added 4 tablespoons of Frye's Cocoa, 1 well ripened banana, some cinnamon... and it turned out AMAZING. My family raved about the recipe. It's a subtle chocolatey flavor so if you want it more chocolatey, add more chocolate chips! It was good even a day later... resembled chocolate cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I changed the butter to 1/2 cup oil. It worked! These taste great. I suggest that you wait a while after they're done to take them out of the waffle iron because they tend to not stay together. Maybe if I set them on medium dark instead of medium they'd come out easier? We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I love chocolate and the recipe did not make the batter smell or taste very chocolate-y, so What I did was I took an additional cup of the chocolate chips and 1/2 a cup of whipped cream and melted them together. It formed a very rich chocolate mix to add to the batter. The taste was incredible, but the next time I make these waffles I will add some oil to the batter, the waffles crumble slightly, and I want it all together. As toppings I treated the waffle like it was desert, sliced strawberries, whipped cream, butterscotch topping and chopped pecans. It was for a girls night in and my friends loved them. We all ate too much! They pair well with a nice blush wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
We liked this recipe. I used 3 whole eggs instead of the 6 egg whites, just didn't want to waste a bunch of eggs. The waffles turned out very nice. We topped them with whipped cream and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made this for Valentine's Day breakfast w/ my heart-shaped waffle maker, just perfect! Nice and fluffy with a light chocolate taste. I served with butter, powdered sugar and the raspberry sauce recipe on here. So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My kids love chocolate chip pancakes so I thought this would be a good change. However, we did not care for them. They did not have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
wow these were great!! putting cream/whipped cream on them helps make them more moist. this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States