Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
After trying a different recipe that stuck to the waffle iron and made a mess, I was excited to try this one that got so many rave reviews, but I was disappointed in it. It did not stick, but they were so dry and crumbly that they fell apart as I took them off of the waffle iron, and we ended up eating inch square pieces that looked "pre-chewed." They were very dry, and even spreading butter on top did not help. I did not make the sauce, so I can't say anything about that. Overall, I was very disappointed, and I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoHardThings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
For some of the people who said they couldn't taste the chocolate flavor, try using chocolate milk instead of white milk and also use the Hot Chocolate Sauce that came with the Gingerbread Waffles. Update: I made these waffles this morning and used a European Style of Cocoa, chocolate milk, and 1/2 t. cinnamon, to enhance the chocolate flavor. I don't think I really needed that cinnamon. The cocoa was strong enough added to the chocolate milk. They were really cholatety. But next time I will try it with white milk and no cinnamon to see if that cocoa is strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
These turned out a little tough, and the chocolate flavor was hard to detect. I love waffles, but I don't think I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
the family LOVED this. it made about 5 belgian waffles, and i will definitely DOUBLE this recipe next time. my husband was pouty that he only got 2 waffles! yes, he's a pig, but he knows a good waffle i guess. i did not make the sauce, just sprinkled some powdered sugar on top. i also added about 1/4 tsp cinnamon to boost the chocolate flavor, about a tsp or more of vanilla, added 2T applesauce and cut 2T of the melted butter. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
We all enjoyed these, I did add more cocoa powder and the chocolate chips, these would make a good desert with a dollop of whip cream. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Nice recipe! Very easy and quick to make, I served with sliced bananas on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYDEVIL43

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I loved this new recipe. I used some of the changes from other viewers (more cocoa pwdr and a little vanilla). I do think it would be 5 stars with mini chocolate chips and this would be an awesome dessert option. My kids loved these for a special breakfast. Didn't make the hard sauce, it was great with syrup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
These waffles were very heavy. I threw mine in the toaster after I cooked it since I do like my waffles a bit more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Runnemede, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I didn't like this recipe it got all stuck to the waffle iron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iPocky
Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Perfect!! I made these with whole wheat graham flour and they were so good that the kids ate them as they came off the waffle iron - plain. No need for any other topping for these. There is enough sugar in them to make them sweet enough to be eaten plain. These are going to be perfect for mornings when we are too rushed sit down to eat. Just grab one and go. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States