Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
My family liked these. The only change I made was I used sweetened cocoa powder - that was all I had on hand. Kept everything else the same. Made them in my begium waffle maker. The first came out soft so I just increaed the time a bit so the outside was a bit crispy but still soft on the inside. Served with sliced strawberries with choice of syrup or powered sugar mixed with sweetened cocoa or cool whip. The kids tried all ways and voted for the cocoa and sugar mix with cool whip. Recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waialua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made Lissalu's changes, but also added an extra 2 cups or a cup and a half of flour to the batter. It improved the consistency of the waffles considerably!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahlia Fernandez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I didn't make the sauce, just he waffle. Pretty yummy. I added mini chocolate chips though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
The only change I made was to use flavored creamer for the milk. DELICIOUS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I made these for my kids and while they liked them the true test is that they haven't asked for them again. I did increase the cocoa to 4 Tablespoons. They cooked up really nice. Not sure if the kids will ask for them again or not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I followed LISSALU's suggestions and these turned out great! I used peanut butter chips in mine. I also left out the egg and added a bit more milk (egg allergy) and they still turned out nicely. I served them with cinnamon honey butter syrup (twice as much honey as butter, zap it in the microwave to melt the butter, however much cinnamon you want to add).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
These turned out pretty good. I added a little more cocoa powder (between 1/2 - 1 tablespoon extra) and sugar (around 1/8 cup) to the batter. The waffles were extremely dense and heavy and tasted pretty good. I think they would be better with a little more cocoa and sugar to up the chocolate taste. I did make the hard sauce to go with it. I realized as I was making it that it's basically exactly like my white frosting recipe, except when I make frosting, I melt the butter instead of using softened butter. This makes the sauce very creamy; using softened butter resulted in lumps of butter and powdered sugar that did not break up even after I whisked it well. We have several leftover waffles and will try them with vanilla ice cream next. A decent recipe, but not our favorite breakfast. Hopefully we will like it better as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Made these for Valentines Day. Skipped the sauce and served with Cool Whip & Sliced strawberries. Very good treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The dry mixture didnt look very chocolate-y so I added an extra tbsp. They tasted great but they came out soft and kinda floppy. My son loved them though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The waffles were very tasty. I wanted more chocolate flavor so I increased the cocoa and added some vanilla. I didn't make the sauce, but instead served it with strawberries and whipped cream. Perfect Valentine's breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States