Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
If you like chocolate and waffles, you will love these! Great with strawberries and the hard sauce is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
These were yum! I added 1/4 C more cocoa powder and subtracted the same amount of flour. After I made one and tasted it, I added 3/4t vanilla and a little more sugar. Also used oil instead of butter. I skipped the 'hard sauce' and instead made simple syrup with sliced strawberries as a sauce. The only reason I gave this 4 out of 5 stars is it wouldn't have been chocolatey enough for me as written, and the vanilla was a great addition. Hubby said it would be better for dessert than breakfast-but that was HIS opinion. For a dessert, I'd also add fresh whipped cream! My waffle iron gave me 8 or so waffles, so I wrapped the extras in parchment and put them in a freezer bag and froze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Fantastic! My family loves them with the hard sauce. Although the number of servings is a bit off... 5 servings only feeds 2 people at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I used WW pastry flour, raw sugar, coconut milk and coconut oil. I also added some vanilla. I know some people grip about giving 5 stars to a recipe you make changes to, but I always make changes. We topped them with sliced bananas and coconut syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I love these waffles! I have made them 3 times in the past week and every time they have turned out wonderfully. I read the reviews before I first made them and took another poster's advice and used 1/4 cup of cocoa instead of the few Tbspoons that the recipe calls for. I have a family of chocaholics that I knew would appreciate the chocolatier taste. I ran out of cocoa by makin them so much and decided to swap out the cocoa for cinnamon. I went by the recipe for them and kept to the 3 Tbs for the cinnamon. They were wonderful as well. A great recipe and a family favorite already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
this was TOTAL hit!!! i didn't make the sauce because there is way too much sugar and fat. Just added some regular pancake syrup. My two picky boys LOVED it!!! Freezing the leftovers and DEFINITELY making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Very yum! My kids loved them I didn't change anything about the recipe and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was excellent. I just made it for some stay-over house-guests, and everyone was very happy. Let's be honest though, It's chocolate cake shaped like a waffle. I added semi-sweet chocolate chips, and a piece of a dark chocolate bar chopped up. I called them "Triple-chocolate waffles". One complaint, the sauce seemed too thick to do anything with. I added a splash more milk, making a nice creamy sauce. I dusted the waffles with confectioner's sugar and then drizzled the sauce over them before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
These were just ok, not very chocolatie and thr "hard sauce" was a little to sweet. Probably will not make again, preschooler would only eat the hard sauce and left the waffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I used 1/4 cup cocoa. Very chocolately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States