Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I will rate this a four because I made changes... but with my changes I would rate it a 5!! The changes I made were 2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 cup cocoa powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp vanilla and half a bag of chocolate chips. So yummy! I made this in my belgian waffle maker and they turned our wonderful! I served this with Easy Whipped Cream from this site. I made the leftovers and froze them. I think I will try them for dessert with ice cream next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
These were fun for breakfast. As other reviewers stated, but waffles don't really get crispy, but stay chewy. We froze the extra and popped in the toaster for breakfast during the week and those got crispy though. I didn't bother with the sauce, but using fresh fruit, jam and syrup. If you are looking for something different, give these a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
AWESOME!! This is a wonderful weekend treat. They were very moist. They texture is more like a pancake, not crispy on the outside. I also noticed I had to use slightly less batter on the iron than I normally would, or they overflowed. Great with strawberries and whipped cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
i mixed the dry ingredients and used as a present with a waffle iron for my mom. she asked for 3lbs of the mix. said it was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
yum yum! I used 1/4 cup of cocoa powder, 2 tsp of baking powder, 1/2 tsp of baking soda, and oil instead of melted butter. I freeze them and then pop them into the toaster. Crunchy outside, soft inside with great chocolaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Holy shamolies! These things are GOOOOOOOOD! I made them with a friend for "Girls' Day Breakfast" and ooh-ooh-ooh. We topped with the hard sauce then added fresh sliced strawberries and cool-whip on top. What a treat! An easy recipe that looks and tastes so divine! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
These were ok. I didn't think the chocolate flavor was strong enough and I agree with other reviewers that they had a very pancake like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Very good recipe! Simple and tasty, my little brother loved these waffles, as well as my mom. Way to go Jenny! This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyheather06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Kids loved, loved, loved these. I would consider these more of a dessert rather than breakfast, but let the kids pick what they wanted today. I added in some mini chocolate chips and 2 of my kids had these with peanut butter and called them Reeses waffles. Probably won't be something I will make them very often, but the recipe is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Yummy! I add chocolate chips to mine also for an extra chocolaty boost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States