Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Bravo! Made recipe exactly as directed the first time using Belgium Waffle maker. They are soft (which I like), but I'm sure they'll crisp up nicely in toaster. The second time, I tweaked by cutting butter to 2T and adding 1 tsp of coffee extract to enhance the chocolate flavor a tad. I found the amount of chocolate to be just right ... Recipe makes 7 nice Belgium waffles which we thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
made them for midnight snack and came out great. even my practice version vanished the next morning!! didn't use the hard sauce, ran outta sugar! but just served like a regular waffle and my brother loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
We made these for my dads birthday since he is a choco-holic...they tasted fine but not too chocolately, and also not as crispy as I like. But still, we ate them all no problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
After trying a different recipe that stuck to the waffle iron and made a mess, I was excited to try this one that got so many rave reviews, but I was disappointed in it. It did not stick, but they were so dry and crumbly that they fell apart as I took them off of the waffle iron, and we ended up eating inch square pieces that looked "pre-chewed." They were very dry, and even spreading butter on top did not help. I did not make the sauce, so I can't say anything about that. Overall, I was very disappointed, and I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoHardThings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
For some of the people who said they couldn't taste the chocolate flavor, try using chocolate milk instead of white milk and also use the Hot Chocolate Sauce that came with the Gingerbread Waffles. Update: I made these waffles this morning and used a European Style of Cocoa, chocolate milk, and 1/2 t. cinnamon, to enhance the chocolate flavor. I don't think I really needed that cinnamon. The cocoa was strong enough added to the chocolate milk. They were really cholatety. But next time I will try it with white milk and no cinnamon to see if that cocoa is strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
These turned out a little tough, and the chocolate flavor was hard to detect. I love waffles, but I don't think I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
the family LOVED this. it made about 5 belgian waffles, and i will definitely DOUBLE this recipe next time. my husband was pouty that he only got 2 waffles! yes, he's a pig, but he knows a good waffle i guess. i did not make the sauce, just sprinkled some powdered sugar on top. i also added about 1/4 tsp cinnamon to boost the chocolate flavor, about a tsp or more of vanilla, added 2T applesauce and cut 2T of the melted butter. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
We all enjoyed these, I did add more cocoa powder and the chocolate chips, these would make a good desert with a dollop of whip cream. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Nice recipe! Very easy and quick to make, I served with sliced bananas on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYDEVIL43

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I loved this new recipe. I used some of the changes from other viewers (more cocoa pwdr and a little vanilla). I do think it would be 5 stars with mini chocolate chips and this would be an awesome dessert option. My kids loved these for a special breakfast. Didn't make the hard sauce, it was great with syrup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States