Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I doubled the recipe, using whole wheat pastry flour instead of white, and added choc. chips. Made them in a belgian waffle maker that makes 4 toaster sized waffles - ended up with a ton of waffles that were tasty, better for you than breakfast cereal, and we take directly out of the freezer, toast in the morning, and eat in the car on the way to school. So good - getting ready to make a new double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lace
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These were okay. I LOVE regular chocolate chip waffles, so I was hoping for more. I also added chocolate chips to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Using a belgium waffle maker, this recipe only produced 4 waffles for me not 10. They are a dense, chewy waffle and not very chocolate flavored. I even separated the eggs and beat the whites before folding them into the batter (as I do with my other waffle recipes) but even that did not lighten up these waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
The taste was great and the icing made it even better! But for some reason the texture was all wrong. It was way to chewy. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These were a big hit with my kids. After cooking I spread them with butter put a dab of the sugar sauce in the middle and sprinkled with powdered sugar. Served with sliced bananas and strawberries. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
We thought these were great. I didn't get a chance to make the hard sauce, but I'm sure that would really gild the lily, I think we'll save it for a special treat (well, an even more special treat than chocolate waffles already are to begin with!). My children really enjoyed these and they helped make a yucky morning more fun. We didn't even need syrup! The only change I made was to substitute white whole wheat flour for part of the ap flour so they would be a little healthier (you can't tell by the taste). Thanks for the great recipe! ETA: I had a little batter leftover and used it to make pancakes with mini chocolate chips for dessert, they were great! My kids asked for more and were really disappointed that we ran out of batter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Our boys absolutely love this recipe for breakfast. We add chopped fresh fruit to make it a bit "healtier".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CajunCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
What a nice weekend treat! These waffles are wonderful when made "as is". I did not alter the recipe at all, to give it a fair rating and I'm glad I did. Other reviewers did not like the consistency of these waffles, but this is what my boys loved about them. They were soft on the inside, and mine did get crispy on the outside with enough time in the waffle iron. Made the hard sauce to go with, and it was wonderful! My sons loved the fact that they were "iced"! The only change that I might make next time, after talking to all three sons: add a bit of cinnamon to make "abuelita/mexican" style chocolate waffles, AND add a bit more cocoa to make it more chocolaty. These had subtle chocolate flavor, and not sickeningly sweet, which we all liked. Even hubby ate it, and he's not a "sweet" eater usually. Will make again, and again, and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My 9 year old daughter asked me to make chocolate waffles so i looked up a recipe on here...this was a very good recipe, we all loved it. Did make th glaze. Topped with fresh strawberries, powder sugar and a drizzle of chocolate syrup..YUM! I did put in 1/3 cup cocoa powder, and separated the egg whites beat until stiff peaks and folded in the battter at the end...you won't be sorry for doing this step...makes for a light fluffy waffle. As i was eating this i was thinking how good this would be with ice cream and hot fudge...next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Tweak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
These are great! Nice chocolate flavor and so easy to make. The batter recipe as is makes about seven waffles. We double the sauce. Have added orange or almond or coconut extracts to waffle batter with yummy results. Thanks Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jordan, Montana, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States