Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I made this for breakfast this morning and thought it was amazing! I didn't make the hard sauce (too many calories in that), but instead just buttered them and used Aunt Jemima 100 calorie/serving syrup. My 3 yr old ate them up! As did I and my husband. We will be making these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vampgirl278

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I loved these. I like the recipe the way it is, though I skipped the chocolate sauce, and I like the softer texture of the waffles, while my husband likes them slightly crispier and leaves them on the waffle iron a little extra longer. These taste good with chocolate, butterscotch, caramel and strawberry syrups and would also taste good with peanut butter, powdered sugar, jams, fruits and berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Awesome taste! So good! Easy to prepare. A nice light chocolate taste and cake-like. This is a keeper! I served mine w/ butter and powdered sugar which tripled the yum factor. I didn't change a thing! Thanks Jenny69 for this perfect recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good, and they freeze well for later eating. Next time I cook these I will review the helpful comments below to crisp these up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We made these for Valentine Day, which was also my mom's birthday and she loves chocolate. We used a belgian waffle maker and they came out delicious. Great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
SO GOOD!...A perfect Valentines day breakfast...used whole white wheat flour to make it a little more heart healthy...my family loved it....THANK U!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erynn77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
How interesting - I don't think I'd ever even heard of such a thing before. I made them exactly as written, and they turned out pretty well. At breakfast-time, the waffles' flavor reminded me of "Cocoa Puffs" cereal, in a non-crunchy waffle form. I didn't know what the "hard sauce" was going to be - another new phrase to me - but it turned out to be kind of like the frosting or glaze that's usually on top of a batch of cinnamon rolls. Upon reflection, I think the hard sauce is probably a much better companion than maple syrup might have been. This didn't quite "wow" me, but it was very good, and a nice departure from the usual waffles. My yield was almost 6 waffles, by the way. I recommend this recipe, and just might make them again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Really really really good. I doubled the recipe so we can have left overs for breakfast over the next few days. Kids already ate some for "lunch" today. I did not make the frosting and it was still so good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Delish! Instead of the hard sauce I put sliced strawberries and whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly & they turned out very well..made 3 7in. round waffles. I would describe the texture as more pancake like but my kids loved them. I made the hard sauce which is basically an icing & they loved it. I would try them with strawberries & whipped cream next time. Very easy recipe & I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States