Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
I make these all the time now. Great chocolate flavour. They are quite pancake like in texture, but my husband prefers pancakes, so everyone wins. Try it with ice cream for a really special Saturday morning breakfast the kids will flip over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Really, really excellent! I have no idea why this recipie isn't rated five star. It's good just the way it is. I did sift the dry ingredients and mixed the wet ingredients before I added them to the dry. They are heavier than your average waffle, but so what! My kids are gobbling them down as I type this! I can see why you begged your mom to make these when you were a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I was looking for a change to my waffle recipe. I am so glad that came to this site and found this recipe. My kids and I both love this recipe. I stirred the batter as I as pouring in the butter in. I had no problems with this recipe. For a family of five you will need to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Decreased the baking powder so they wouldn't get so "cakey." Also, didn't make the sauce but think I will next time. Instead I topped with a strawberry syrup and canned whipped cream. Think this would be perfect for a bruch. It has that "wow" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
These were fun for breakfast. As other reviewers stated, but waffles don't really get crispy, but stay chewy. We froze the extra and popped in the toaster for breakfast during the week and those got crispy though. I didn't bother with the sauce, but using fresh fruit, jam and syrup. If you are looking for something different, give these a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This has become our traditional "snow day -- no school" breakfast of choice! Easy, delicious. Leftovers keep well overnight to be reheated in toaster oven. We just sprinkle powdered sugar (snow!) over the tops -- they are plenty sweet without the hard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
These had good flavor, but were kind of heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I just made these for breakfast and really enjoyed them. I have to agree with the other reviewer who said the texture is more like a pancake. The hard sauce was a tasty treat, although it tasted just like frosting. Not sure I'll make these for breakfast again, but they would be a good dessert! Thanks for sharing Jenny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
AWESOME!! This is a wonderful weekend treat. They were very moist. They texture is more like a pancake, not crispy on the outside. I also noticed I had to use slightly less batter on the iron than I normally would, or they overflowed. Great with strawberries and whipped cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Very good recipe! Simple and tasty, my little brother loved these waffles, as well as my mom. Way to go Jenny! This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyheather06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States