Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
These were ok. I didn't think the chocolate flavor was strong enough and I agree with other reviewers that they had a very pancake like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These were a hit with my kids and husband. Nice change from regular waffles. I did not like the hard sauce as it was in the recipe. It was stiff and tasted like pure sugar. I addded more milk and butter to make it runnier and drizzled that over the top. I think I might try strawberries and whip cream next time. The waffles are not crispy no matter how long you leave them in the waffle maker. THey are a soft chewy consistency, which is ok for a change. My kids snacked on the cold extras later in the day without anything added to them. I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
These are good. I did not make the sauce. I topped with whipped cream and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Very yummy! I made these with sweetened cocoa and they turned out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Ward Sheehan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was great, but i added a few changes to make it even better! I used sugar substitute and upped it to one cup, only used two teaspoons of baking powder, and added a half a cup of chocolate chips! I made a bunch and and froze them so i can warm them anytime in the toaster! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
These are good. However i thought the chocolate flavor was to mild. I didn't make the sauce. I served wtih homemade whipped cream and berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
My little ones were wanting waffles so decided to change things up by trying a chocolate recipe. We hit the jackpot. Followed the waffle recipe to the letter but didn't make the hard sauce. Some sliced strawberries and powdered sugar on top worked well for us. I'm thinking these would be good hot with some ice-cream for a Sunday evening treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
I make these all the time now. Great chocolate flavour. They are quite pancake like in texture, but my husband prefers pancakes, so everyone wins. Try it with ice cream for a really special Saturday morning breakfast the kids will flip over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Really, really excellent! I have no idea why this recipie isn't rated five star. It's good just the way it is. I did sift the dry ingredients and mixed the wet ingredients before I added them to the dry. They are heavier than your average waffle, but so what! My kids are gobbling them down as I type this! I can see why you begged your mom to make these when you were a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I was looking for a change to my waffle recipe. I am so glad that came to this site and found this recipe. My kids and I both love this recipe. I stirred the batter as I as pouring in the butter in. I had no problems with this recipe. For a family of five you will need to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States