Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I made this tonight. It was just ok. I followed the recipe exactly, but only made the waffles. I did not make the sauce. Maybe the secret to flavor is in the sauce?. Really, the chocolate taste is lacking. It honestly didn't have much taste at all. However, after topped with cool whip and powdered sugar it tasted pretty good. Also, this is not a flae in the recipe as it most likelya calls for a standard waffle iron, if making belgium waffles it only makes 4-5. I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I judged the waffles by the picture, big mistake. Sure when I made them they looked and smelled fantastic but when you try them....not so appetizing. The waffle tasted strange, it was sweet but in a bad way. So I rated this recipe 2 stars because they tasted like a bad chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
They tasted good. The waffles were a bit too tough for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Land
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made a few changes. An additional 1/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup cocoa, reduced sugar to 1/4 cup and added one mashed banana and reduced baking powder to 2 tsp and added 1/2 tsp baking soda. Changed all flour to whole wheat. Served with raspberry syrup and made the icing in the recipe self serve by putting it into a ziploc snack baggy and cutting a tiny hole. Huge hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
they were ok, not very crunchy I added chocolate chips and peanut butter. They need ice cream or fudge sauce (just mix 250mls 1 cup thin cream,1/2 cup brown sugar,2 tbsp golden syrup,20g 1 tbsp butter,200g dark cooking chocolate, 1 tsp vanilla essence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Replaced the milk with soy milk. The result was very heavy until I added an additional 1/4 cup of soy milk to get the consistency right. The taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Very good. Followed the recipe exactly. Made 2 batches of waffles in my waffle iron for a total of 8 square waffles / 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
my hubby and 6 year old took one bit and didn't have more. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
If you like chocolate and waffles, you will love these! Great with strawberries and the hard sauce is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
These were yum! I added 1/4 C more cocoa powder and subtracted the same amount of flour. After I made one and tasted it, I added 3/4t vanilla and a little more sugar. Also used oil instead of butter. I skipped the 'hard sauce' and instead made simple syrup with sliced strawberries as a sauce. The only reason I gave this 4 out of 5 stars is it wouldn't have been chocolatey enough for me as written, and the vanilla was a great addition. Hubby said it would be better for dessert than breakfast-but that was HIS opinion. For a dessert, I'd also add fresh whipped cream! My waffle iron gave me 8 or so waffles, so I wrapped the extras in parchment and put them in a freezer bag and froze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States