Chocolate Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I love reviews! I was looking for a cookie that I could use to make ice cream sandwiches and with a little tinkering, this fit the bill. I doubled the sugar and added 1 tbsp instant coffee to the water before adding it to the dough. Also instead of rolling into cylinders, I just rolled flat (after chilling) and cut out my circles (dough was maybe 1/4" rather than 1/2") and stuffed with ice cream! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These worked out perfectly for my use, which was a cheesecake crumb-crust. I wasn't looking for anything too sweet, just something to create chocolate cookie crumbs-which it did! I warned my kids not to eat them plain-which they did(much to their chagrin). Anyways...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
A little less sweet than I wanted, but made for a good ice cream sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
cut it thinner use slightly more cocoa + tiny salt makes it taste less raw, its supposed to be bland though its a wafer cookie use it as a vehicle for something to highlight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This cookie was easy to make and had a nice texture, but overall the taste was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
maybe it was just me and my kids, but we thought these tasted like cocoa flavored flour. Not terrible, but needs some tinkering . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Couldn't see using 4 eggs to make 1 cup of egg, so assumed typo and used 1 only. Added vanilla and salt and more sugar, but still very little flavor. Texture very cake-like. Reminded me of fat-free diet cookie like Snackwells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I have to say I was really disappointed with this cookie. I also tried again increasing the sugar (double) and still - they tasted more like flour than chocolate. The texture was perfect and they looked really good but sadly the taste was just too disappointing. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States