Chocolate Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I love reviews! I was looking for a cookie that I could use to make ice cream sandwiches and with a little tinkering, this fit the bill. I doubled the sugar and added 1 tbsp instant coffee to the water before adding it to the dough. Also instead of rolling into cylinders, I just rolled flat (after chilling) and cut out my circles (dough was maybe 1/4" rather than 1/2") and stuffed with ice cream! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These worked out perfectly for my use, which was a cheesecake crumb-crust. I wasn't looking for anything too sweet, just something to create chocolate cookie crumbs-which it did! I warned my kids not to eat them plain-which they did(much to their chagrin). Anyways...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
cut it thinner use slightly more cocoa + tiny salt makes it taste less raw, its supposed to be bland though its a wafer cookie use it as a vehicle for something to highlight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
A little less sweet than I wanted, but made for a good ice cream sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This cookie was easy to make and had a nice texture, but overall the taste was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
maybe it was just me and my kids, but we thought these tasted like cocoa flavored flour. Not terrible, but needs some tinkering . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Couldn't see using 4 eggs to make 1 cup of egg, so assumed typo and used 1 only. Added vanilla and salt and more sugar, but still very little flavor. Texture very cake-like. Reminded me of fat-free diet cookie like Snackwells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I have to say I was really disappointed with this cookie. I also tried again increasing the sugar (double) and still - they tasted more like flour than chocolate. The texture was perfect and they looked really good but sadly the taste was just too disappointing. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States