Chocolate Wafer Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
My Mom also made this every Christmas for many years. It has never fallen apart. It could be that some people do not whip their whipping cream enough. we only put in about a tablespoon of regular sugar to the whipping cream near the end. It has to sit for at least 5 hours so the wafers pick up the wetness from the whipped cream and fatten up. Also, we have always used THIN wafers (from Nabisco0 and not Oreos. It's very cakelike. A winner every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe is a classic that my mother used to make when I was a child! I did change my recipe a little bit though, because I just used a tub of cool whip and then added vanilla extract. It turned out fantastic! I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
awesome. something with this few ingredients shouldn't taste this good! It is messy, but a kid could do it and be proud of the results. And YES, you MUST chill it overnight for the cookies to absorb the moisture from the whipping cream. it will turn out almost cake-like and not like oreo's at all. If it's too sloppy, the whipping cream isn't the right consistency. I use less sugar as well... enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I gave 5 stars b/c this as a crowd pleaser sort of desert that's pretty safe. But unfortunately, whenever I make it, my whipped cream starts to get really soupy very quickly during the assembly. I refrigerate the cream after i make it to give it a chance to cool off. I FREEZE the mini cookie stacks after assembling them. I FREEZE the cutting board i assemble it on. I assemble the whole thing on a board covered in foil, then wrap the foil around it to make a log shape, and then FREEZE it. (The fridge just doesnt work for some reason and it turns into a big blob). I have made whipped cream a few times, dont know why it does this. After it freezes, it will hold the log shape. I keep it frozen until serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This was pretty good but not what I was expecting. I thought it was a little messy to make but that could just be me, I am a sloppy decorator. It was expensive to make, I thought, which I don't mind if the taste is fabulous, but this wasn't. my kids loved though, of course! LOL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
WOW!!! So good and so easy! I used a small fondue fork so there were no notable holes. My husband who likes nothing loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Doesn't sound like much when you read the recipe, but it is really delicious. An elegant but not too heavy dessert. My sweets hating sister absolutley wolfs this down! Be sure you let it stand for at least the specified time or it will be impossible to cut (you want the cookies to absorb moisture from the whipped cream and turn cake-like). Also, be sure to slice at a 45 degree angle to the roll to get the striped effect. I tried this once with Cool Whip it's not anywhere near as good as with real whipping cream flavor-wise and for some reason it comes out much drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I make this with 2 cups of fresh real whipped cream and the whole box of nabisco famous chocolate wafers. It tastes nothing like an oreo to me - I don't like oreos and I love this. It has to sit in the fridge overnight or it doesn't work! I love this and get frequent requests for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
If you love oreo cookies, this dessert is for you! It's delicious, light, and a snap to make. I used only a half cup of sugar, and it turned out fine. Thank's Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I would agree that this is a quick dessert to put together. However,it tastes like nothing more than cookies and whipping cream. I flavored the whipped cream with cream d'menthe, a touch of green food coloring and made the Betty Crocker raspberry sauce to drizzle over it. It looked very Christmasy and attractive with these additions. The mint, chocolate and raspbery were great together, but in the end its still cookies and whipping cream and has a tendency to fall apart even when sliced on the diagonal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States