Chocolate Wafer Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This makes a really good chocolate crust. Be sure to use the big dark chocolate wafers that are cello-wrapped on top with their bottoms in a yellow box (I think they're Nabisco). They really put this recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I made this with a peanut butter pie. it was perfect. I used reduced-fat nabsico chocolate wafers. Mmmm, so good. I liked the crust better than the pie, and the pie was GOOD. (Note: it's about 50 wafers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
great for cheesecake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I used chocolate graham crackers and this turned out very good. I decided to bake it (375 for 7 minutes) just to ensure that the crust would stay together since I didn't think refrigeration would hold it together when serving. However, I didn't spray the pie pan, thus the crust stuck to the bottom. I plan to try it again, still baking it, but making sure I prepare the pan before hand so that the crust will come out easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I used Oreos to make this crust. It was quite simple to make--- as easy as buying a crust at the grocery store--- and tasted yummy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was really tasty, I used the Nabisco chocolate wafers and it turned out great. However, I dropped one star because it sticks alot to thje pie plate, would wokr out better if used in a tin or a disposable pie tin, don't uyse in a deep dish plate like I did. Also, could be improved be a couple of tablespoons of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I cannot find chocolate wafers around here so I also used chocolate graham crackers. I do not bake my crust. I use it for peanut butter pie and it is so yummy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is EXACTLY what I needed for the Creamy Peanut Butter Pie I also found on this site. I didn't want to spend two bucks on a pre-made crumb crust when I could make one at home. I used Mother's Peanut Butter Sandwich cookies for this and ground them in my blender, as I don't have a food processor. Worked like a charm! Only issue I had was when I added the melted butter, it seemed really too wet, so I had to grind up another six cookies to soak up the moisture. Wasn't a huge deal. I stuck this in my freezer for about a half hour to hurry-firm it so I could make the rest of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
If you are using Oreos, it takes about 16 cookies to make 1.5 cups of crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Quick, easy...YUMMY! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States