Chocolate Wafer Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I used 25 oreos, and I put them in the food processor to make them almost as fine as dust! I used 6 Tbsp butter, and cooked the crust at 375 for 10 minutes. (my pie is a no-bake pie, so I had to cook the crust first).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Delicious. I will never buy a store bought crust again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I could not find chocolate cookie crumbs at my grocery store and I didn't want to use oreos so I used crushed chocolate graham crackers and added 2 tablespoons brown sugar. I used this crust for a chocolate silk pie and everyone loved it. I would add a picture but it keeps giving me an error when I try. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I only had oreos to make my crust, and this was the closest recipe I could find on here. I started with the given proportions for butter:crumbs and needed to add more cookies. I'm not surprised as the cream filling must have some sort of fat in it (never read the label, it's probably better if I don't). I've made lots of graham cracker crusts before so I just added/mixed until it had the slightly wet texture and held together well. Oddly enough, it stuck to the bottom of the pan. I am not sure if it's because the cookies absorbed butter after mixing, or the cream reacted somehow, or because it wasn't baked. I will keep experimenting because it was an amazingly good crust. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
FYI: 2 pkg's chocolate graham crackers (out of the three total in one box) make 3 cups crumbs. Add 12 T. melted butter & press into a 9x13 pan. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I gave this four stars because it tasted good, but didn't hold together very well. It was extremely crumbly and I think it needed more butter. I used chocolate graham crackers though, so maybe they need more butter to hold together than the wafers do. Just couldn't find chocolate wafers at my grocer :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Used Choc grahams crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Quick, easy...YUMMY! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
If you are using Oreos, it takes about 16 cookies to make 1.5 cups of crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is EXACTLY what I needed for the Creamy Peanut Butter Pie I also found on this site. I didn't want to spend two bucks on a pre-made crumb crust when I could make one at home. I used Mother's Peanut Butter Sandwich cookies for this and ground them in my blender, as I don't have a food processor. Worked like a charm! Only issue I had was when I added the melted butter, it seemed really too wet, so I had to grind up another six cookies to soak up the moisture. Wasn't a huge deal. I stuck this in my freezer for about a half hour to hurry-firm it so I could make the rest of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States