Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This really is velvety and delicious--an excellent no cook custard-style ice cream. Be sure to beat your egg yolks for 1-2 minutes, until they are light and fluffy, before continuing with the recipe, which will help ensure the very best consistency of the ice cream. Knowing that using all heavy cream can result in a greasy mouth feel, I substituted half and half for 2/3 c. of the cream, tho' milk could just as easily have been used. To intensify the flavor I increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup, added 1 tsp. vanilla, and a pinch of salt. For the chocolate, I added small chunks of a good quality semi-sweet chocolate bar during the last minute or two of churning. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
The only reason I gave this four stars instead of five is because this is much more like chocolate mousse than ice cream. It is delicious and we added mini marshmallows and nuts. I also added more cocoa powder which I'm glad I did. O.k. I take back the four stars and gave it five because after leaving it overnight in the freezer, this was some of the best ice cream I've ever had! Soooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This is the BEST. So very rich and creamy. You could use 1/2& 1/2 and it would still be very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
all I can say is, WOW!! this recipe is so simple and the outcome is just as promised. I didn't have any ice cream maker but the ice cream turned out just fine. What I did was to whip the cream a little bit, then add the chocolate+sugar+egg mixture. Froze it in the fridge overnight and voila! Homemade chocolate ice cream. The taste is excellent and you'll never go wrong with this recipe. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I made this last night, it was the first time I tried my new Ice Cream maker. My family loved it!!! I used egg beaters instead of raw eggs and 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream, and mini choc. chips, next time I think I will try the heavy cream and grated chocolate. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
DEEElicious! I often will use straight evap milk-altho cream yields a creamier result and always sub in egg beaters for the yolks (I have little kids). I dump all ingredients into my blender (so I don't have to use a hand mixer, it incorporates the cocoa better and turns the chocolate to tasty tidbits)--give it a mightly whirl and pour into my ice cream machine for divine results!YUM! Thanks for an awesome recipe! Don't be afraid to jack up the cocoa amount if you are a chocoholic. =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I was looking for a fast ice cream recipe that didn't need to be cooked and could be converted to sugar free. This was wonderful. I used splenda instead of sugar and left out the chocolate chips. Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
LOVED IT! I am going to try 1/2 & 1/2 next time, just because. Also, I used pasturized egg product (carton in dairy section) because raw egg grosses me out. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very creamy and chocolatey!! I used a combination of evaporated milk and heavy cream. I also added brownie bits and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I really hate adding raw egg yolks but this was fabulous. Tastes like chocolate mousse. I will definitely make again. Would be fabulous with bits of brownie in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States