Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was my first venture into making ice cream and it was a huge hit at my son's birthday party. My wife declared it the best ice cream she's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h0t5auce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Made this for a neighborhood ice cream contest and it was the first to be eaten! I even lowered the fat a bit by doing 5 egg yolks and 4 liquid eggs. Also I did half cream and the other 1/2 and 1/2. I also made brownies and rolled them into tiny balls and stirred them in after the ice cream had frozen. It was a definite show stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
The ice cream was very good but we didn't care for the grittiness of the chocolate chips. We feel it would have been better had they been left whole. Thank you JKINFLA for sharing a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Very good. We didn't have heavy cream, so we substituted with milk/butter. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Creamy, rich, delicious...I could continue gushing with one adjective after another to describe this fabulous ice cream; I can certainly understand why the word velvet is in the name. I shaved good quality dark chocolate into the mix instead of chocolate chips. My family is pretty fond of the chocolate ice cream I have been making for years, but I think that this one may have gone to the top of our list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was the first time I tried to make chocolate ice cream....and it came out great!!! Tasted very expensive and rich...I substituted just 1/3 cup of cream for milk for a bit less greasiness, and added 1 tsp. vanilla and a pinch of salt. Used 2 bars of Hershey's Special Dark chopped up and put into ice cream maker last few mins. of churning. Was very chocolatey and will make again!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenRahel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I omitted the extra chunks/shaves of chocolate for personal preference and added about 1/2 tsp of salt. WONDERFUL! Really super yummy! My 3 1/3 year old godson was beyond amazed at the yummy ice cream we made together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This is the best ice cream ever. It is better than any specialty ice cream shop. The recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This is very good ice cream. I haven't used another chocolate ice cream recipe since. I'm going to make it into rocky road ice cream next time. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I got on a homemade Ice cream kick today and whipped up a couple.. LOL This one was really good. It was more like a dark choc flavor. Next time might try milk choc.. But other than that it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States