Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was the first time we made home-made ice cream and it came out pretty good! This is very rich and chocolaty! I would describe it as eating a frozen chocolate truffle- very decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is the best chocolate ice cream ever. I did double the cocoa as others suggested, but I think I will only do 1/2 cup cocoa next batch. My husband and kids love it and want me to make it again. I will never have to buy ice cream again. The whole reason I wanted to make my own was because I couldn't hardly find any ice creams without high fructose corn syrup or partially hydrogenated oils in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
It just does not get better than this. I had this mixed up and ready to put into the ice cream maker at my friend's house and could not find the lid. She decided we'd just put it in ice cube trays and put it into the blender when done. Guess what, no blender or ice cream maker necessary. The result was velvety smooth right out of the regular freezer. It was amazing. I'm making more tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Love it! Added 1/3 cup extra cocoa powder, and some very finely ground instant coffee and it was perfect! Usually the grounds would add an unpleasant texture, but with the chocolate shavings they blend right in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
So yummy and creamy! I used 1/2 cup cocoa and 1 cup sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
If you like frozen custard this is IT! OMG it was so good! It reminds me of a place back East, Culver's. I wouldn't change anything about this recipe! It was soooooo good! NEXT I'm going to try adding other things to the chocolate ice cream other than the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I'm rating it 4 stars because I had to alter this in order for it to turn out properly. I cut down the cream to just 2 cups and then substituted 2/3 cups of whole milk to make up the difference. I increased the amount of cocoa powder to 1/2 cup and added about 1 tsp of salt and vanilla extract to help bring out the flavor. I also decided to make this with just an electric hand mixer. Instead of chilling in the refrigerator, I put the well-beaten mixture into the freezer for about 2-3 hours and made sure to beat it very well afterward. I repeated this two more times (basically until it got to the soft-serve stage) before finally allowing it to sit in the freezer overnight. It turned out wonderful! I will make this again with the alterations, but this is a very good base to work with otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
The texture was divine! Aptly named, this ice cream is absolutely smooth and velvety. It reminds me quite a bit of the Baskin Robbins flavor "Chocolate Mousse Royale" that they no longer make. I did think it was a little eggy and not quite chocolatey enough, but overall, a pleasure to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made this ice cream to rave reviews at my birthday party. I utilized pasteurized egg yolks (had to make them myself), and then about 2 minutes before it was done added in some brownie bits (also homemade). I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States