Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe has spoiled me! This was the first time I ever produced homemade ice cream. Now any other recipe I try does not compare! I even created a vanilla recipe and a mocha based on these ingredients. My family loves it! Of course my hips may say otherwise- it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Perkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I think this is a good starting point, but I havent found a way to 'perfect' it just yet. Made just as, it was just too sweet to me, and I've got a sweet tooth. I've made it a few more times doing different things-less cocoa, more salt, etc etc...and still not there. Until another reviewer can find the thing that tops this recipe off, I might have to venture off with my search for the ultimate homemade chocolate ice cream. Thanks though, sooo close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webbfam_moejoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Terrific. I used mini chocolate chips and added them the last ten minutes the ice cream was churning in the machine. This avoided having to chop them up and the attendant mess that would go with it. Definetly a keeper. Update: After using this recipe as written for the last few years I decided to try using powdered sugar and see how it came out. It was dynamite! Definetly much smoother and silkier. Try it, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
best recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superprinces34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
No cook and rich and creamy, YUM! I halfed this recipe (except for the cocoa) and made it sugar free by using 1/4 c. splenda and leaving out the chocolate chips. I also used half whole milk and half heavy cream so I didn't get that waxing mouth feel from using all heavy cream (personal pref). This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Whoa. This stuff is knock-your-socks-off good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
not bad...will try different next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Excellent flavor. Not to chocolatey or rich. Definately a mousse texture. Did recipe exactly as stated. Used ice cream maker and churned for 25 mins. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Super easy, really amazing homemade ice cream! Included a shot of Kahlua and finely ground up peanut butter chips with nuts. My husband loved this- we gilded the lily by pouring on melted dark chocolate truffle. Took the previous reviewers' advice and mixed the ingredients via blender, let it sit in the refrigerator to set for a few hours, and then blended with the ice cream attachment on my KitchenAid. Amazing soft serve and even better after it ripened in the freezer for a few hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meekowt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
tasted pretty good but wasn't my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States