Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
one of my favorite ice cream flavors is chocolate mousse from baskin robbins (right after pralines & cream) so I was looking for something similar but still not expecting it to be the same. I was right because I loved this but it is different from what i had in mind. baskin robbins' ice cream has more chocolate and is more chewy. I wonder if adding another egg yolk would make this more chewy and elastic. I used whipping cream instead of heavy cream. I'm not sure about the difference but I can't find heavy cream where I live so I used regular whipping cream (30% fat). the only thing I would change is add more chocolate because I like my chocolate ice cream very chocolaty and use maybe more cocoa powder or more grated chocolate. it was also very rich and very creamy so maybe next time when in the mood to cut a few calories i'll try this with half whipping cream and half half-and-half (or light whipping cream - 15% fat) but i'm not sure, since adding the chocolate might change the taste anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Family did no care for mousy taste so it was no eaten well. I think I may have not put the right amount of cream since I doubled it and it came out with about 8 servings instead of 16 so it might be a 5 if I did not mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I added Andes Creme De Menthe chips to the recipe and a small amount of peppermint extract. I used my electric ice cream maker. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great recipe, I added a couple of scoops dark chocolate cocoa powder and ran about 1/3 of a cup of almonds through the food processor for about 2 seconds and added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwayne Roach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Good the day you make it, AMAZING the next day! Personally, we will be making this a day ahead from now on! It was a hit!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Made a double batch for a BBQ this weekend and it was WONDERFUL. I added all of the ingredients but the chocolate and heated it to 170. Then added mini chocolate chips, which melted just fine. At the end of the ice cream maker cycle I added an additional 1/3 c. of mini chocolate chips which gave it a little something extra. Excellent recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Wow! I was a tiny bit skeptical that I would not like the consistency, but on the contrary, it was heavenly!! Extrordinarily smooth- Unlike any other airy ice cream I've had. I omittted the chocolate chips and it was by far sweet enough, very rich too!! An Aboslute keeper. ***UPDATE: I also made a sugar free version of this using splenda and it was very very good. Not nearly as rich as the original, I would have liked a stronger taste ( more splenda? cocoa? not sure) but I will definitely make sugar free again too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
THE BEST BEST BEST dessert I have EVER had!! Followed directions exactly, SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is now my goto chocolate ice cream recipe. Doesn't make a lot, but then this is so rich that one can't eat that much at a time anyway. I recommend sifting the cocoa into the sugar if your cocoa is the least bit lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexa Stewart McAdams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States