Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is our go-to chocolate ice cream recipe. I make my mixture in my blender. I blend it up, throw it in the ice cream maker and let it spin. LOVE IT:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I have used this recipe for years. Came back to get a 2nd print the first is so well worn I can barely read it. Variations work well with this recipe too. I have done strawberry, raspberry, vanilla, chocolate chip, and today I am making fresh peach. I am sure you will love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I scaled this down to use in my "pint" machine....and I can honestly say this recipe gave Hagen Dazs chocolate/chocolate chip a run for it's money. YUMMY and so super simple. Thanks a billion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is in a league of its own. I have made this several times and found that it works best when using heavy cream or heavy whipping cream. I can freeze the leftovers, set it out for a few minutes, dig in, and it is still so soft. I have attempted with half & half as well as whole milk as other reviewers suggested, but found that the result is not as velvety and freezes with more of a fine ice particle consistency. Both options taste good, but the heavy stuff gives you that velvet richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I have never made an egg based ice cream before, not to mention a RAW egg based ice cream. I was a little scared. I wondered if we'd all die of food poisoning. I threw caution to the wind, though. Mostly because I'm too lazy to heat it all up. I took a deep breath, pulled up my sleeves, and made a double batch with a full cup of cocoa powder, a teaspoon of salt, and two tablespoons of vanilla. After we'd frozen it, I took my first bite, and my whole culinary world changed. I was in taste bud heaven! I found chocolatopia! I heard the Hallelujah Chorus coming out of my ice cream container! I have NEVER had ice cream SO good, SO perfectly chocolate and creamy, and SO SO SO (!!!!) addictive! You can throw anything in there with it, and it'll be fantastic! I will say this, though...and I really really mean it...add the salt. It isn't going to have the same life altering effect on you without it. I will never EVER buy ice cream again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyricalMe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I found this is a good base for whatever you want to put in your ice cream. I'm a fan of the ben and jerry's ice creams, so I make my own like them, starting with this recipe then adding things like brownie or caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
made this ice cream last night, I may add thi is the first ice cream I've ever made. After watching Alton Brown's show "Good Eats" on You Tube I made a few minor changes. I added a pinch of salt, and 1 tablespoon of unflovored gelatin on top of 1/4 cup of the cold mixture (in a separte cup), then heated up 1/4 cup of the mixture in the microwave so that it was very warm and added to the gelatin mixture and stirred until mixed, then added the gelatin mixture back into the cold ice cream mixture before adding to the ice cream maker. I was hoping to eliminate any ice crystals from forming creating an icy ice cream as well as making it scoopable. This worked perfect, I am making a lemon sorbet today using the same method .I also added Scor pieces and pecans....awesome ice cream !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious!!! Pumped up the cocoa powder a little bit as I did not have any chocolate chips. Also used 2 c heavy cream and 2/3 c half and half per another review. Chilled the mixture overnight and froze it for about 8 hours after churning in the ice cream maker. Hubby and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Super! Used half and half instead of heavy cream; didn't seem to detract from the flavor at all. Chopped up Butterfingers instead of chocolate chips. This recipe will clearly stand on its own or support any additions (I'm going to add chopped brownies next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very good, rich and creamy. Followed the recipe exactly, next time I will probably leave out the chocolate chips, not sure they are essential to the taste. We really enjoyed this - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States