Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Excellent chocolate ice cream recipe! I doubled the recipe and did not add the chocolate chips! The ice cream is very very smooth and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Immel Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Best chocolate ice cream -oh my goodness! Wish I had egg beaters but didn't so used real eggs. I'm sure we'll be fine. Only had 2 c of heavy cream so did 2/3 c. half and half. Couldn't even imagine it richer. Another 5 stars to the woman who said to add mini marshmallows (and we used mini semi sweet choc chips). My daughter is allergic to nuts so has never had rocky road. WOW - we are all in heaven. We didn't even freeze it - just ate it straight out of the ice cream maker. Making it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Excellent recipe. Easy to make and strong chocolate flavor. If you added marshmallows and almonds it would be an outstanding Rocky Road ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Family loved this. I did sub the chocolate chips with mint chocolate chips which worked great. Will be making again. UPDATE I have made this recipe again several times minus the chips as family was wanting just chocolate ice cream. However I have been adding a small amount of vanilla extract. It is over the top good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is our go-to chocolate ice cream recipe. I make my mixture in my blender. I blend it up, throw it in the ice cream maker and let it spin. LOVE IT:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I have used this recipe for years. Came back to get a 2nd print the first is so well worn I can barely read it. Variations work well with this recipe too. I have done strawberry, raspberry, vanilla, chocolate chip, and today I am making fresh peach. I am sure you will love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I scaled this down to use in my "pint" machine....and I can honestly say this recipe gave Hagen Dazs chocolate/chocolate chip a run for it's money. YUMMY and so super simple. Thanks a billion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is in a league of its own. I have made this several times and found that it works best when using heavy cream or heavy whipping cream. I can freeze the leftovers, set it out for a few minutes, dig in, and it is still so soft. I have attempted with half & half as well as whole milk as other reviewers suggested, but found that the result is not as velvety and freezes with more of a fine ice particle consistency. Both options taste good, but the heavy stuff gives you that velvet richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I have never made an egg based ice cream before, not to mention a RAW egg based ice cream. I was a little scared. I wondered if we'd all die of food poisoning. I threw caution to the wind, though. Mostly because I'm too lazy to heat it all up. I took a deep breath, pulled up my sleeves, and made a double batch with a full cup of cocoa powder, a teaspoon of salt, and two tablespoons of vanilla. After we'd frozen it, I took my first bite, and my whole culinary world changed. I was in taste bud heaven! I found chocolatopia! I heard the Hallelujah Chorus coming out of my ice cream container! I have NEVER had ice cream SO good, SO perfectly chocolate and creamy, and SO SO SO (!!!!) addictive! You can throw anything in there with it, and it'll be fantastic! I will say this, though...and I really really mean it...add the salt. It isn't going to have the same life altering effect on you without it. I will never EVER buy ice cream again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyricalMe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I found this is a good base for whatever you want to put in your ice cream. I'm a fan of the ben and jerry's ice creams, so I make my own like them, starting with this recipe then adding things like brownie or caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States