Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Amazing ice cream. I substituted half-and-half for half of the cream but followed all the other directions to a tee. Incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The cream cream had really great flavor! I used brown sugar instead of white, and added peanut butter, and it gave it a rich flavor. But the heavy whipping cream made it TOO fluffy. I should have thought to cut down the whipping cream and perhaps halved it with whole milk or half and half. Again, great flavor, but I'll probably be using this as a whipped topping on top of brownies this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This needed more choc chips and a teaspoon of vanilla extract to kick in the chocolate flavor, but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Panama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Add a VERY little dark chocolate with orange. VERY nice flavor and SUPER velvety. I like ice cream rich and will be looking for ways to make this richer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
My sister bought me the Kitchen Aid Ice cream attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer. I've been dying to make homemade chocolate icecream and came across this recipe. OH MY GOD!!! THIS IS THE BEST HOMEMADE ICECREAM THAT I EVER TASTED!!! This was my very first time making icecream and I gotta say WOWOWOWOW!!! I love how it taste. I added brownie bits along with Doves fudge sauce to the icecream as it was mixing just to give it a little kick ( I love brownies and fudge sauce) and it tasted even better. Even without the sauce and brownies it still taste GREAT!!! This recipe is a definite keeper!!! 10 stars for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was my first venture into making ice cream and it was a huge hit at my son's birthday party. My wife declared it the best ice cream she's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h0t5auce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Made this for a neighborhood ice cream contest and it was the first to be eaten! I even lowered the fat a bit by doing 5 egg yolks and 4 liquid eggs. Also I did half cream and the other 1/2 and 1/2. I also made brownies and rolled them into tiny balls and stirred them in after the ice cream had frozen. It was a definite show stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
The ice cream was very good but we didn't care for the grittiness of the chocolate chips. We feel it would have been better had they been left whole. Thank you JKINFLA for sharing a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Very good. We didn't have heavy cream, so we substituted with milk/butter. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Creamy, rich, delicious...I could continue gushing with one adjective after another to describe this fabulous ice cream; I can certainly understand why the word velvet is in the name. I shaved good quality dark chocolate into the mix instead of chocolate chips. My family is pretty fond of the chocolate ice cream I have been making for years, but I think that this one may have gone to the top of our list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States