Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I'm rating it 4 stars because I had to alter this in order for it to turn out properly. I cut down the cream to just 2 cups and then substituted 2/3 cups of whole milk to make up the difference. I increased the amount of cocoa powder to 1/2 cup and added about 1 tsp of salt and vanilla extract to help bring out the flavor. I also decided to make this with just an electric hand mixer. Instead of chilling in the refrigerator, I put the well-beaten mixture into the freezer for about 2-3 hours and made sure to beat it very well afterward. I repeated this two more times (basically until it got to the soft-serve stage) before finally allowing it to sit in the freezer overnight. It turned out wonderful! I will make this again with the alterations, but this is a very good base to work with otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
The texture was divine! Aptly named, this ice cream is absolutely smooth and velvety. It reminds me quite a bit of the Baskin Robbins flavor "Chocolate Mousse Royale" that they no longer make. I did think it was a little eggy and not quite chocolatey enough, but overall, a pleasure to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made this ice cream to rave reviews at my birthday party. I utilized pasteurized egg yolks (had to make them myself), and then about 2 minutes before it was done added in some brownie bits (also homemade). I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Good ice cream; very creamy, smoothy. I thought it could use a little more sugar, a pinch of salt, and a lot less cream. As the instructions directed, I used an electric mixer to combine the ingredients and slowly added the cream. This does indeed produce a very mousse-like texture. I would replace a cup of the cream with a cup of milk and would not beat the mixture. I would also add 1 cup of sugar instead of 2/3 cup, and add a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Oh my goodness this is just sinful!!! I love it, love it, love it. Just the right amount of chocolate and perfect consistency. This was the first ice cream I have made in my new ice cream maker, and I can see that I am going to become addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I received a kitchenaid stand mixer with a kitchenaid ice cream attachment at my bridal shower last week. I was eager to try out an ice cream recipe and I settled on this one. I only had 2 cups of cream so I subbed whole milk for the extra 2/3 cup the recipe called for. I did a mix of chopped up semisweet chocolate chips and nuts (instead of just chocolate chips) that I put in the ice cream maker during the last 2 minutes of mixing. It was pretty good straight out of the ice cream maker, but it was exceptional after freezing over night. Very creamy and delicious, but not overly heavy at the same time. Everybody should try this! It's so easy that even a 1st timer can do it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Delightful! We left out the chips and marshmellows. We wanted it smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I've never been much of a chocolate ice cream fan, but for a very special dinner I was serving homemade chocolate cake and homemade vanilla ice cream (used Alton Brown's Serious Vanilla Ice Cream recipe), so I thought I'd accommodate ALL the guests by offering a chocolate ice cream as well. It was SOOOO rich and smooth. Used 2/3 cup cocoa powder, an additional 4 tablespoons of sugar, and had only 2/3 cup heavy cream in the fridge so I made up the difference with 1/2 and 1/2. For silky, chocolate-y goodness, this is a keeper. My guests went ga-ga over it. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Amazing ice cream. I substituted half-and-half for half of the cream but followed all the other directions to a tee. Incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The cream cream had really great flavor! I used brown sugar instead of white, and added peanut butter, and it gave it a rich flavor. But the heavy whipping cream made it TOO fluffy. I should have thought to cut down the whipping cream and perhaps halved it with whole milk or half and half. Again, great flavor, but I'll probably be using this as a whipped topping on top of brownies this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States