Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Good ice cream; very creamy, smoothy. I thought it could use a little more sugar, a pinch of salt, and a lot less cream. As the instructions directed, I used an electric mixer to combine the ingredients and slowly added the cream. This does indeed produce a very mousse-like texture. I would replace a cup of the cream with a cup of milk and would not beat the mixture. I would also add 1 cup of sugar instead of 2/3 cup, and add a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Oh my goodness this is just sinful!!! I love it, love it, love it. Just the right amount of chocolate and perfect consistency. This was the first ice cream I have made in my new ice cream maker, and I can see that I am going to become addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I received a kitchenaid stand mixer with a kitchenaid ice cream attachment at my bridal shower last week. I was eager to try out an ice cream recipe and I settled on this one. I only had 2 cups of cream so I subbed whole milk for the extra 2/3 cup the recipe called for. I did a mix of chopped up semisweet chocolate chips and nuts (instead of just chocolate chips) that I put in the ice cream maker during the last 2 minutes of mixing. It was pretty good straight out of the ice cream maker, but it was exceptional after freezing over night. Very creamy and delicious, but not overly heavy at the same time. Everybody should try this! It's so easy that even a 1st timer can do it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Delightful! We left out the chips and marshmellows. We wanted it smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I've never been much of a chocolate ice cream fan, but for a very special dinner I was serving homemade chocolate cake and homemade vanilla ice cream (used Alton Brown's Serious Vanilla Ice Cream recipe), so I thought I'd accommodate ALL the guests by offering a chocolate ice cream as well. It was SOOOO rich and smooth. Used 2/3 cup cocoa powder, an additional 4 tablespoons of sugar, and had only 2/3 cup heavy cream in the fridge so I made up the difference with 1/2 and 1/2. For silky, chocolate-y goodness, this is a keeper. My guests went ga-ga over it. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Amazing ice cream. I substituted half-and-half for half of the cream but followed all the other directions to a tee. Incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The cream cream had really great flavor! I used brown sugar instead of white, and added peanut butter, and it gave it a rich flavor. But the heavy whipping cream made it TOO fluffy. I should have thought to cut down the whipping cream and perhaps halved it with whole milk or half and half. Again, great flavor, but I'll probably be using this as a whipped topping on top of brownies this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This needed more choc chips and a teaspoon of vanilla extract to kick in the chocolate flavor, but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Panama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Add a VERY little dark chocolate with orange. VERY nice flavor and SUPER velvety. I like ice cream rich and will be looking for ways to make this richer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
My sister bought me the Kitchen Aid Ice cream attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer. I've been dying to make homemade chocolate icecream and came across this recipe. OH MY GOD!!! THIS IS THE BEST HOMEMADE ICECREAM THAT I EVER TASTED!!! This was my very first time making icecream and I gotta say WOWOWOWOW!!! I love how it taste. I added brownie bits along with Doves fudge sauce to the icecream as it was mixing just to give it a little kick ( I love brownies and fudge sauce) and it tasted even better. Even without the sauce and brownies it still taste GREAT!!! This recipe is a definite keeper!!! 10 stars for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States