Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Great, but don't use the chocolate chips - they freeze rock hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Creamy, smooth and rich. I made the recipe with the ingredients just as written but I did take another reviewers advice and simply put all the ingredients in a blender and gave it a good long whirl, scraped the sides with a spat and whirled it again. Ice cream turned out perfectly and it is even better after curing in the freezer overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junior

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was the first time we made home-made ice cream and it came out pretty good! This is very rich and chocolaty! I would describe it as eating a frozen chocolate truffle- very decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is the best chocolate ice cream ever. I did double the cocoa as others suggested, but I think I will only do 1/2 cup cocoa next batch. My husband and kids love it and want me to make it again. I will never have to buy ice cream again. The whole reason I wanted to make my own was because I couldn't hardly find any ice creams without high fructose corn syrup or partially hydrogenated oils in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
It just does not get better than this. I had this mixed up and ready to put into the ice cream maker at my friend's house and could not find the lid. She decided we'd just put it in ice cube trays and put it into the blender when done. Guess what, no blender or ice cream maker necessary. The result was velvety smooth right out of the regular freezer. It was amazing. I'm making more tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Love it! Added 1/3 cup extra cocoa powder, and some very finely ground instant coffee and it was perfect! Usually the grounds would add an unpleasant texture, but with the chocolate shavings they blend right in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
So yummy and creamy! I used 1/2 cup cocoa and 1 cup sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
If you like frozen custard this is IT! OMG it was so good! It reminds me of a place back East, Culver's. I wouldn't change anything about this recipe! It was soooooo good! NEXT I'm going to try adding other things to the chocolate ice cream other than the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I'm rating it 4 stars because I had to alter this in order for it to turn out properly. I cut down the cream to just 2 cups and then substituted 2/3 cups of whole milk to make up the difference. I increased the amount of cocoa powder to 1/2 cup and added about 1 tsp of salt and vanilla extract to help bring out the flavor. I also decided to make this with just an electric hand mixer. Instead of chilling in the refrigerator, I put the well-beaten mixture into the freezer for about 2-3 hours and made sure to beat it very well afterward. I repeated this two more times (basically until it got to the soft-serve stage) before finally allowing it to sit in the freezer overnight. It turned out wonderful! I will make this again with the alterations, but this is a very good base to work with otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States