Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This recipe was really fantastic tasting. I was, as many others, disappointed with the consistency. I took the advice of some other reviews and froze the ice cream over night. This made a dramatic difference. I also added a little vanilla a inch of salt to the recipe. Rather than using the chocolate chips I chopped up some chocolate covered almonds I had been given as a gift and added them into the mixture towards the end of the ice cream machine cycle. It tastes like I got from an ice cream shop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Fabulous! I was nervous about raw egg, so I cooked it as I did other ice cream recipes... just to 170. I don't know if it was the use of the mixer, but this was by far the best homemade ice cream I've made! Perfect consistency and smoothness! I used all half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
So creamy and delicious! I made this with my Kitchenaid ice cream maker and it turned out heavenly. Next time I will add a fudge sauce or brownish chunks...possibly both. it's truly fantastic without the additions though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Linsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This recipe was SOOO yummy. I tried to blend the chocolate chips in the blender (my chopper broke) and that did not work at all, so I just threw the chocolate chips in as is. I also added a half cup of almond slices into the ice cream while turning and it came out great!!! I will do it again but with less chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiCACA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is so unbelievably easy and excellent. It's my first recipe with an ice cream maker. Thanks to the other reviewers, I adapted the recipe to lower the fat content and increase the sugar and chocolate. I used 2 cups half and half and 2/3 c 2% milk, 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup cocoa powder. I was hesitant to use the grated semi-sweet chocolate chips, but did and don't regret it. I added them in the final 10 minutes. Out of the ice cream maker it is velvety smooth with a bit of crunch, and spatula-licking-good, just like soft serve. I will be having the official taste test after an overnight freeze. Make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very delicious and really easy to make!! I'm going to experiment by adding different items, although it is great as-is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
sooooo good. i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe has spoiled me! This was the first time I ever produced homemade ice cream. Now any other recipe I try does not compare! I even created a vanilla recipe and a mocha based on these ingredients. My family loves it! Of course my hips may say otherwise- it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Perkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I think this is a good starting point, but I havent found a way to 'perfect' it just yet. Made just as, it was just too sweet to me, and I've got a sweet tooth. I've made it a few more times doing different things-less cocoa, more salt, etc etc...and still not there. Until another reviewer can find the thing that tops this recipe off, I might have to venture off with my search for the ultimate homemade chocolate ice cream. Thanks though, sooo close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webbfam_moejoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Terrific. I used mini chocolate chips and added them the last ten minutes the ice cream was churning in the machine. This avoided having to chop them up and the attendant mess that would go with it. Definetly a keeper. Update: After using this recipe as written for the last few years I decided to try using powdered sugar and see how it came out. It was dynamite! Definetly much smoother and silkier. Try it, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States